This is the "Evidence Based Medicine Resources" page of the "Medicine" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Last Updated: Jul 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.ualberta.ca/medicine Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Evidence Based Medicine Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 

Evidence-based Resources

Summaries of the research literature, including systematic reviews, clinical practice guidelines and pre-appraised articles.

Pre-Appraised Articles

Find research articles that have already been pre-appraised by experts.

  • ACP Journal Club
    Internal Medicine
  • Evidence Updates
    Register for a free account and receive new journal articles in your discipline that have been critically appraised and ranked for clinical relevance.
  • Cochrane Library
    Search six databases at once: Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness (DARE), Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Methodology Register, Health Technology Assessments, and the NHS Economic Evaluation Database

Point of Care Resources

Clinical summaries designed to be used at the point of care.

( Note :  Click More Info to acquire link if main link does not connect )

Spacer

PubMed Clinical Queries

Click on "Clinical Queries" on the PubMed home page to search for systematic reviews or by question domain (therapy, diagnosis, prognosis, etiology).

  • PubMed (UA Access)
    Includes links to full text journal articles licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.

Learning about Evidence Based Medicine

  • JAMA Evidence
    Includes critical appraisal worksheets and the full text of the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature
  • CATwalk: Critically Appraised Topic
    This site has been designed to assist University of Alberta medical students and residents in the process of completing a Critically Appraised Topic (CAT).
  • Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Oxford)
    Provides Critical Appraisal worksheets as well as the CATmaker, a computer-assisted critical appraisal tool which helps you create Critically Appraised Topics (CATs) for key articles.
  • Bandolier
    Evidence-based Medicine website with an excellent glossary and guides to understanding and appraising the medical literature
  • Evidence Based Mini-Manual

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Sandy Campbell
Contact Info
John W.Scott Health Sciences Library
2K4.01 W.C. Mackenzie Centre
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, Canada
780-492-7915
Send Email

Subject Librarian

Profile Image
Liz Dennett
Contact Info
780-492-9023
Send Email

Subject Librarian Intern

Profile Image
Robin Desmeules
Contact Info
John W.Scott Health Sciences Library
2K4.11 W.C. Mackenzie Centre
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, Canada
780-492-7932
Send Email
Subjects:
Medicine
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip