Also known as: |Individual Literature Collections (Chadwyck Healey)|LION|
This collection includes:
20th Century African-American Poetry - A database of modern and contemporary African-American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Features 10,000 poems by around 70 of the most important African-American poets of the last century.
20th Century American Poetry - Includes 52,000 poems drawn from 750 volumes by over 300 poets, including Adrienne Rich, Andrei Codrescu, Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams, Denise Levertov, Wallace Stevens, Langston Hughes, Lucille Clifton, and Cathy Song.
20th Century English Poetry - A collection of 598 volumes of poetry by 283 poets from 1900 to the present day, including W. B. Yeats, Rudyard Kipling, Robert Graves, A. E. Housman, John Betjeman, Fleur Adcock, Tony Harrison, Benjamin Zephaniah and Carol Ann Duffy, and incorporating the poets in The Faber Poetry Library.
African-American Poetry (1750-1900) - Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
American Poetry (1600-1900) - Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
American Drama (1714-1915) - Contains more than 1,100 dramatic works from the early eighteenth century up to the beginning of the twentieth. Includes: plays in verse, farces, melodramas, minstrel shows, realist plays, frontier plays, temperance dialogues and a range of other genres. Major dramatists include Clyde Fitch, Augustin Daly, David Belasco, James Herne and Joaquin Miller.
Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (1920-2002) - contains over 830,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
Bibliography of American Literature - Nearly 40,000 records of the literary works of approximately 300 American writers from the period of the Revolution to 1930
The Bible in English - twenty-one versions of the Bible, including thirteen complete Bibles and full New Testaments in five other versions. Particular attention has been given to the Renaissance period. Texts from the Protestant, Roman Catholic and non-conformist traditions are represented.
Canadian Poetry - Created in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries. Contains the full text of more than 12,000 poems by 142 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford and Archibald Lampman, and will soon offer a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the seventeenth century to the early twentieth.
Early American Fiction 1789-1850 - Provides both images and text. Presently includes 440 titles by 80 authors, including first printings of works by James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Montgomery Bird, Washington Irving, Catharine Sedgwick, and Nathaniel Hawthorne. Published jointly with the University of Virginia Library.
Early American Fiction 1789-1875 - When complete, Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will extend the coverage of the first Early American Fiction collection by twenty-five years (1851-1875) and will incorporate the full text of more than 250 additional titles and over 60 new authors, including Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville and Thomas Bailey Aldrich, as well as a host of minor writers of the period. Early American Fiction 1789-1875 will include more than 750 works of fiction by more than 130 authors.
Early English prose fiction - over 200 works of fictional prose from the period 1500-1700. It includes Elizabethan fiction, Jest Books, collections of short pieces and novellas, Restoration fiction and works of popular fiction.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare - eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge Edition of 1863-6, twenty-four contemporary printings of individual plays, selected apocrypha and related works, and over 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques.
Eighteenth century fiction - 77 works of English prose by writers from the British Isles published between 1700 and 1780.
English Drama (1280-1915) - A combination of Chadwyck-Healeys English Verse Drama and English Prose Drama full-text databases. 4,000 plays by 1,200 authors from the late thirteenth century to the early twentieth century.
English poetry - 165,000 poems from the period 1100 to 1900.
English Poetry, Second Edition - Adds more than 20,000 poems from several new categories to the first edition, and contains more than 183,000 poems by over 2,700 poets. Covers English verse from the 8th century to the early 20th, and offers representation both of the literary heritages of Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries and of the poetic legacies of English writers who have only been brought back to scholarly attention during the last thirty years.
The Faber Poetry Library - A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list spans the seventy-year history of this major publishing house, and includes the poetry of James Joyce, Siegfried Sassoon, T.S. Eliot, Ted Hughes, Sylvia Plath and Seamus Heaney. In total The Faber Poetry Library contains 140 volumes by 50 poets.
Nineteenth-Century Fiction - 250 novels from the period 1782 to 1903, including works by all the major Victorian novelists such as Dickens, Thackeray, the Brontës, Eliot and Hardy, as well as the landmarks of Gothic and other fiction from the Romantic period.
Webster's Third New International Dictionary, Unabridged - America's premier lexicographical work, the 1993 edition is published here in electronic form for the first time. A dictionary of the English language containing 450,000 vocabulary entries.
Entries provide complete bibliographic data, price, subject headings, a descriptive annotation, and evaluative quotations from a review when available. The catalog also includes an annotated list of recommended web resources for children and professionals working with children.