First Nations, Métis, and Inuit

Where to search:​

• The main search on the library homepage (under the main search bar) takes you to EBSCO Discovery Service, which will search through multiple databases in the U of A's collection. However, it will not search all of the databases in the U of A's collection.
• Find Databases on the library homepage (under the main search bar) will allow you to search for databases by title or subject area.
• Google Scholar will search library and open access collections worldwide. Access it through the library homepage to view full text articles.
• Indigenous Academic Journals: A list of Indigenous academic journals is included on this page. Browsing journals is a great way to get a sense of current trends and issues. If you are searching for articles on a specific topic it is probably more efficient to search in a database.
• Databases & Portals: See below for a list of databases and research portals with Indigenous content.

How to search:

Think of your search terms!

• If you want just a few good results, use one or two terms
• If you want to make your search wider, use more related terms.

Try, for example: "first nation*'" or aboriginal* or native* or Indigenous

Remember, the names or spelling of Indigenous nations or communities may vary, and names may change over time. The names communities use for themselves may be different from how they are referred to in English.

In many databases: 

• "quotation marks" keep your search terms together (e.g. "first nations" will search for instances where those two words appear next to each other). 
• *asterisks can help you search for words that have the same root (e.g. indigen* searches indigenous, indigenize, indigeneity etc. BUT will also search indigent).

This list was compiled by the creators of the following guide: