Subject Guides: Health Sciences Resources for Mobile Devices: Home

Health Sciences Apps

DynaMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.

Available for Blackberry, Android, and iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad (iOS 7.0
and higher).

How to install the Dynamed mobile app.

DynaMed Mobile App - User Guide

Lexicomp - now UpToDate LexiDrug This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PLEASE NOTE: Due to a technical issue, effective Monday, December 4/23, you may be required to re-register for access to the Lexicomp mobile app

AHS-affiliated individuals, such as University of Alberta Medical Residents, are suggested to download Lexicomp through the Alberta Health Services - Knowledge Resource Service as their needs focus on patient care. This is contrasted to University students whose use centers on course study.

Available for iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad (iOS 7.0 and higher), Android.
How to install the Lexicomp mobile app.

CPS Full Access This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

As part of University of Alberta Library's subscription to CPS, we are pleased to provide you with your own personal access to the CPS by CPhA (formerly RxTx) mobile app. This app provides CPS Full Access for Apple and (some) Android mobile devices.

Click here to register. Please follow the steps below.

Enter your existing username and password. If you do not have one, please create an account.
You will receive a “welcome” email asking you to create your CPhA password — please follow the instructions.
Once your password has been set, visit the “profile” icon located at the top right of the page and select “profile” from the dropdown menu.
Scroll down to the “Set Mobile Enterprise Code” section.
Enter the Organization Code 0072609 or 0099924 and create a CPS password. Click on the “Next” button.
You are all set! Download the CPS mobile app on your device and use your email address and the password you just created to login.

Go to the Apple App Store to download the CPS by CPhA app for iPhone and iPad
Android users please note: The Android framework the app was built on has been deprecated by Google as of April 2023 and this does impact any users with new phones or an updated Android OS. A solution is forthcoming. In the interim, please open CPS in a browser on your device - a wireless connection is required.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Clinical Key integrates much of Elsevier's medical and surgical content into one online resource, giving physicians access to large numbers of books, journals, videos and images. NOTE: You must be signed on to a free ClinicalKey account in order to download PDF versions of articles and book chapters.
ClinicalKey can be accessed on Apple and Android mobile devices. To access the full content of ClinicalKey you will need to register for a free ClinicalKey account. Information on this can be found here.

Available for Apple and Android mobile devices.

Mobile device users - Click here

NatMed Pro (formerly Natural Medicines) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Now known as NatMed Pro

Available for Blackberry, iPhone/iPod Touch, iPad, Android, Palm OS and
Windows Mobile.

Access the Natural Medicines database from this Library database link.

Click on CE/CME Center and create an account.
Login with that account for the first time.
Download the 'Natural Medicines' app that has a small green 'Pro' box in the upper lefthand corner of the icon, NOT the 'Natural Medicines Consumer Ed' app that has a blue 'C' box on the icon.
Use your newly created login credentials (username, not email address) and password to login to the app.
The database will start downloading for your use.

EBSCO Mobile App
With the EBSCO Mobile app, users of EBSCO Discovery Service™ (EDS) and EBSCOhost® have a pocket-sized, multi-function library access tool they can take with them, when and where they need it.
Free and available to all EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) and EBSCOhost users, the EBSCO Mobile app gives users ubiquitous access to the library’s content, including an easy way to download and read e-books and accessing search results across the library’s EBSCO subscriptions.

Information concerning this App

> The Versatile New EBSCO App

> Quick Start Guide

> Frequently Asked Questions

> Installation and Authentication FAQs

> Downloading and Reading eBooks

Available for Apple and Android

> Apple iOS devices (via the App Store)

> Android devices (via Google Play)

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes ebooks in clinical medicine and basic science, including Harrison's Online, Hurst's The Heart, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (MMBID) and other major texts, with updates. Also includes a drug index.

Available for Apple and Android mobile devices.
AccessMedicine from McGraw Hill Medical is a comprehensive online medical resource. The AccessMedicine app is a point of care solution for clinical practice through select mobile features.

To activate and for continued access to the app, register for a My Access account (using Sign In). and sign in every 90 days through your institution, either on-site or through a VPN.

Primal Pictures 3D Anatomy Quiz
The app combines our pioneering digital model of the human body – built from real scan data, unrivalled in its accuracy – with a fun interface designed to test understanding of anatomical structures and aid recall. And with its limitless bank of questions, it's the perfect study tool. Primal Pictures’ dynamic, interactive 3D Anatomy Quiz app is now available from Google Play and the App Store.

Health Sciences Article Databases

Need to find a few articles quickly? Most of our top health sciences databases are available in mobile format.

Web of Science. My Research Assistant
Web of Science™ My Research Assistant is a new mobile app that brings the power of the Web of Science to your mobile phone or device, so you’re equipped wherever inspiration strikes.
more...less...
Available for iOS and Android as "Web of Science MyRA" app. Download the app, then sign in with an existing Web of Science account or create an account within the app.

Scopus (Web)
The Scopus App is available for iOS (iPhone, iPod Touch, iPad) and Android. Requires free account registration.

PubMed Mobile (Web)
The new PubMed Mobile interface from the National Library of Medicine (PMHh interface) looks the same as the database PubMed (UA Access) - citations have a “Get Full Text” link (Get-It) to our electronic journals. Users will be required to authenticate before they can access full text, just as they would through PubMed (UA Access) queries.

Ask us! We're here to help

Health Sciences Library

Email Me

Contact:

Sperber Library
1-120 Edmonton Clinic Health Academy (ECHA)
sprbhelp@ualberta.ca

780-492-7947