Subject Guides: Human Ecology: Clothing, Textiles & Material Culture: Clothing & textiles

Images

ARTstor This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Registering for ARTstor:
- At the first ARTstor page click on the orange "Go" icon (upper right of screen).
- Click on "Not registered?" (upper right). Include an email address (this can be a non-UofA email address if you've already keyed in a University of Alberta CCID and password).
- Confirm the email address, then select and confirm a password.
- Click on "Submit."

Fashion design/history

Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) This link opens in a new window ARTbibliographies Modern contains abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, and exhibition reviews. The scope of ARTbibliographies Modern extends from artists and movements beginning with Impressionism in the late 19th century, up to the most recent works and trends in the late 20th century. Photography is covered from its invention in 1839 to the present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A particular emphasis is placed upon adding new and lesser-known artists and on the coverage of foreign-language literature. Approximately 13,000 new entries are added each year.

ARTbibliographies Modern covers all aspects of modern and contemporary art, including performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theater arts, crafts, jewelry, illustration, and more, as well as the traditional fine arts of painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

This web version of the database covers volume years 1974 to the present.
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This link opens in a new window This collection contains videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) This link opens in a new window The French Revolution Digital Archive (FRDA) is a multi-year collaboration of the Stanford University Libraries and the Bibliothèque nationale de France (BnF) to produce a digital searchable database of the key research sources of the French Revolution. The archive is based around two main resources, the Archives parlementaires and a vast corpus of images first brought together in 1989 and known as the Images de la Revolution française.
- This link opens in a new window
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window This is is the world's leading online trend forecasting, analysis and research service. It provides creative content, tools and business intelligence to the apparel, style, beauty, design and retail industries. It includes millions of images. A personal account must be created.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Harper's Bazaar Archive This link opens in a new window Archive of every issue of Harper's Bazaar from its first appearance in 1867.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue (US Edition) This link opens in a new window The complete run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and provides a unique historical record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Vogue Italia This link opens in a new window The complete run of Vogue Italia one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italias appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Coverage: 1964 - current
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window Constitutes a comprehensive archive of Women's Wear Daily, from the first issue in 1910 to material from within the last twelve months.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

WWD Online (1994-current) WWD.com has some free content but there's much more available with our subscription, including content back to 1994 and weekly magazine to view/download.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR contains fulltext academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Design & Applied Arts Index (DAII) This link opens in a new window A leading source of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in Design and Applied Arts periodicals from 1973 onwards. Topics include ceramics, glass, jewellery, wood, metalsmithing, graphic design, fashion and clothing, textiles, furniture, interior design, architecture, computer aided design, Web design, computer-generated graphics, animation, product design, industrial design, garden design, and landscape architecture.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window This database provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It contains reference and book content, museum object images, and allows students and academics to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Textile technology/manufacturing

Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Materials This link opens in a new window This is the worlds largest database for the identification of physical and chemical properties in Materials Science. It covers data from Materials Science, Physics, Physical and Inorganic Chemistry, Engineering and other related fields. It supports research in the fields of bulk and fine chemical manufacturing, petroleum and petrochemicals, semiconductors and electronic materials, optical metals, ceramics, polymer synthesis and processing, and materials for fuels and energy application.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window The Web of Science platform provides online access to their core Citation Indexes, and also hosts a number of subject-specific databases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Compendex This link opens in a new window Ei Compendex (1884 to the present) provides international coverage of all fields of engineering including related areas of applied science, management, and energy.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fields covered include: aeronautics; applied physics; bioengineering and medical equipment; chemical engineering; polymers and food technology; computers and robotics; civil, structural, control, electrical, electronics, and environmental engineering; energy technology and petroleum engineering; industrial engineering; information science; light and optical technology; marine engineering; mechanical, mining, and metallurgic engineering; materials science; nuclear engineering; and transportation.
Textile Technology Index This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Textile Technology Digest| Originally published as Textile Technology Digest. Provides international coverage of the literature of textiles and related subjects. Coverage includes the various aspects of textile production and processing, and the automation and management systems of these operations. Coverage also includes many of the major resources of the apparel, home furnishings, flooring, and polymer industries.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
IHS Standards - now Accuris This link opens in a new window An index of industry standards from various organizations, and bibliographic information standards from organizations worldwide. NOTE: Full text access for ISO Standards only. Search the A-Z list for full text standards collections from other organizations.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Streaming Video Databases

Alexander Street - All Collections This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Anthropology This link opens in a new window Includes full text and streaming video content in |Ethnographic Video Online| and |Anthropology Online| from Alexander Street Press.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Criterion-on-Demand This link opens in a new window Criterion-on-Demand issues and solutions: If you encounter a "redirect error" when accessing a film in Firefox, there are two issues that may be causing the problem. Attempt #1 first, followed by #2 (also works in Safari). In Safari, please also ensure that the security plugin is enabled for MS Silverlight. #1: Disable Add-ons that may be causing endless redirects that can't be resolved. #2: Clear the cache and cookie history in Firefox.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window This database contains instructional and educational streaming videos from sources such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Cambridge Educational in addition to a number of news outlets such as PBS, CNBC, and National Geographic.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use of Films on Demand is governed by the following terms:

Permitted Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Collection is licensed solely to Licensee and Authorized Users for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions, provided no admission or other fees are charged for public viewing. Licensee and Authorized Users may stream, display, publicly perform, or exhibit the Video Titles asynchronously on a single computer or network, course management system, or password-protected website. Licensee and Authorized Users may electronically save, organize, and share Video Titles or parts thereof with other Authorized Users using tools provided with Films On Demand.

Prohibited Uses of the Collection and Video Titles Neither Licensee nor Authorized Users may (1) mount or distribute any element of the Collection on any electronic network accessible to parties who are not Authorized Users, including without limitation the Internet and the World Wide Web; (2) use all or any part of the Collection for Commercial Use or; (3) copy, transmit, modify, distribute, sell, or create derivative works from the Video Titles except as expressly permitted under applicable law or as described herein.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Film Studies
Experimental/Alternative Media
Early Film
New World Cinema: Independent Features and Shorts, 1990-Present This link opens in a new window The collection includes full-length feature films from leading independent distributors.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
NFB Campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SAGE Video This link opens in a new window Communication and Mass Media Studies videos
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window This database provides video content types used in theatre education (filmed stage performances, master classes, documentaries, and training material) with teaching tools (playlists, video clips, on-screen transcripts).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Cultural/social

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window EDS provides cross-searching of all subscribed EBSCO content (database, journals, ebooks etc.) as well as many other UofA databases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window This site indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes the companion file Social Services Abstracts, which provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Men's Studies|Women's Studies International| Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC's Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window America: History and Life provides abstracts covering all aspects of the history of Canada and the United States from prehistorical times to the present. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: popular culture, anthropology, folklore, sociology, cultural studies, business, the arts, law, education and genealogy. Published since 1964.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window