Login & User Tech Support
Login to RefWorks - For Registered Faculty, Staff and Students at the University of Alberta
- Login (Registered, and New Users)
- Group Code (Required for off-campus access)
IMPORTANT announcement for all RefWorks users: Scholars Portal hosting of RefWorks will be discontinued in Summer of 2015. At that time, all University of Alberta-affiliated RefWorks accounts will be migrated to RefWorks servers in the United States. Watch this space for more details in the upcoming months. If you have any questions, please direct them to University of Alberta Libraries RefWorks Team @ firstname.lastname@example.org
Technical Support - Need help?*
*Before submitting your question preview RefWorks-specific FAQs for answers to common queries @ URL: http://answers.scholarsportal.info/browse.php?tid=18826.
If the solution appears not to be available in the list of FAQs, then place an inquiry with either:
The University of Alberta RefWorks Team @ email@example.com for help using RefWorks or Write-N-Cite, to arrange for a group, class or individual tutorial in RefWorks.
Please include the following information in your email - Mac or PC user, web browser, operating system version, version of MSOffice installed; the nature of your problem.
LibAnswers allows Scholars Portal to respond publicly or privately to your questions, depending on the nature of the question. Some of its other features include auto-suggesting in the question box, and the ability for users to comment on any answer, to request further elaboration, or to suggest a correction.
What is RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management program that enables users to:
- download, gather, and store references from literature databases and library catalogues automatically
- format citations and bibliographies in seconds
- connect to their RefWorks accounts anywhere there is web access
- share their citations with other RefWorks users and project collborators
GETTING STARTED: Sign up for a free RefWorks Account (you can create more than one account for yourself)
- Click on “Login (Registered, and New Users)”
- Select “Sign up for a New Account” – Complete the New User Information form; use your UofAlberta E-Mail Address.
- Click “Create Account” and start using RefWorks!
- You will receive a confirmation email with your login and password.
REFWORKS IN 4 STEPS
STEP 1 - Search Databases for articles, and export article citations to RefWorks.
- Select a database and conduct a search for articles.
- While viewing an interesting article, click “Add to Folder” or place a check mark next to the article (this varies with the database used); continue your search.
- When finished searching, locate the Marked Items folder (databases have different names for this folder, but they all function similarly) and export the citations. Be sure to select RefWorks as the export location!
- After exporting, RefWorks will open. Login!
- Click on “View Last Imported Folder” to see your imported citations!
STEP 2 - Organize your citations into customized folders.
- Create a new folder by clicking on “New Folder” (or Create Subfolder); provide a New Folder Name; then click “Create”
- Return to your imported citations list by clicking on “View è View Folder è Last Imported.”
- Place a check mark next to the citations you want to put in your new folder. Click on the “Add to” icon to move the citations.
- Check to see—click on “View è View Folder” then select your new named folder to see your moved citations.
STEP 3 - Use RefWorks’ Write-N-Cite (WNC 4) feature to quickly add in-text citations to your research paper.*
- Write-N-Cite is a RefWorks utility. Download it from RefWorks by clicking “Tools”; then “Write-N-Cite.”
- “Choose Write-N-Cite for Windows” or “Write-N-Cite for Mac”; Click “Download”; Close all applications, and install the App.
- Open MicroSoft Word; WNC 4 (PC) now appears in the MS Word ribbon as the “RefWorks” Tab; Click the Refworks Tab to open the WNC button bar and “Log in”. On Mac OSx, WNC 4 appears as a floating toolbar.
- Click on the Folders to find the citations you want to use in your paper.
STEP 4 - Instantly generate a bibliography of all the articles you cited in your research paper!
- Select your Output Style (e.g. APA, MLA, IEEE, etc).
- In your MSWord document, place your cursor where you’d like to insert an in-text citation. Select the citation you want to insert. Click “OK”
- When you’ve written your paper and inserted all your in-text citations, place the cursor where the bibliography is to appear; Click “Bibliography Options ==> Insert Bibliography.”
- WNC4 inserts full citations and references directly into your document. A fully formatted bibliography should appear at the end of your paper.
- Write-N-Cite 4 processes “*.docx” files; Write-N-Cite 3 process only "*.doc" files (Word 97-2003)
- At this time, Write-N-Cite 4 does not support MS OFFICE 2013; users should download and install the older WNC 3 version.
- Users can install and use WNC3 (PC) only to the end of 2013.
Importing & Exporting between RefWorks and Select UofAlberta Library Resources (Tipsheets)
To Import references into your Refworks account from on line data vendors, click HERE and slect the name of the literature database, or name of the vendor platform for your literature database.
Follow the instructions "For Direct Export" or "To Manually Save and Export Records" if the Direct Export method fails.