Web sites for Canadian Legal History
- Osgoode Society for Canadian Legal History
- Legal Archives Society of Alberta
- History of Crime and Punishment in New Brunswick
- Great 'Unsolved Mysteries" in Canadian History
- Law Society of Upper Canada Heritage Committee
- THE COURT STRUCTURE OF QUEBEC AND LOWER CANADA Occasional Papers of the Montreal History Group / Groupe sur l'histoire de Montréal
Number 2 - Canada in the Making The story of the Canadian Constitution is far more than the history of the Constitution Act, 1867, which was once called the British North America Act, or even the Canada Act, 1982 and the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedom. These documents, while important, tell only a portion of the story. It begins long before Canada was formed as a nation, in Britain, France and among the Aboriginal peoples of North America.
Ask Us
Chat requires JavaScript.
Make an Appointment
To make an appointment for an in-depth consultation or orientation to the UofA Library's resources in legal history, contact kathryn.arbuckle@ualberta.ca
Please suggest two or three days and times that would work for you. Usually appointments are for one hour, and we can book another appointment if required.
Canadian Legal History - Key Databases
These databases focus on sources useful for Canadian legal history. You may also find useful historical resources from government bodies or agencies, e.g., Parliamentary Committee reports. For help identifying and locating govenrment information, please check the Government Information guide.
- Alberta Law Collection This database contains the documents that form Alberta's legislative history, including all of the Alberta Statutes up to 1990, Legislative Assembly Bills, Debates and Journals, the Alberta Gazette and the Ordinances of the Northwest Territories prior to the birth of Alberta.
- Hein Online - Session Laws Library Canadian federal and colonial sessional law volumes from 1792 through 2007. Note that as of December 2009, revised statutes are not included in this collection.
- LLMC Digital This digital collection is of interest to researchers in law and history, comprising legal literature and government documents. The collection as of early 2009 consisted of colonial and some post-confederation Canadian (federal and provincial) statutes and cases, U.S. federal (executive, legislative and judicial) material, and U.S. military law material. Some of the Canadian material is not available elsewhere.
- The Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Digital images of legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. - The Law Reports The official series of British law reports from 1865 onwards. From 1867 - 1949, Canadian cases were appealed to the British Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (J.C.P.C.). Select "Continue", then "Cases", then the "UK" pull-down menu.
- America: History and Life with Full Text
Covers all aspects of the history of Canada and the United States from prehistorical times to the present. - Canadian Encyclopedia Online
Online version of The Canadian Encyclopedia. - The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History
Provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems.
Selected Books in Canadian Legal History
The trial of Louis Riel : justice and mercy denied : a critical, legal and political analysis - Goulet, George R. D. (George Richard Donald), 1933-
Call Number: KF 223 R54 G68 2005 LAW LIBRARY
ISBN/ISSN: 1894638700
Petticoats and prejudice : women and law in nineteenth century Canada - Backhouse, Constance, 1952-
Call Number: KF 478 B126 1991 LAW LIBRARY
ISBN/ISSN: 0889611610
Also available as an e-book.
The grand experiment : law and legal culture in British settler societies
Call Number: KF 346 G73 2008 LAW LIBRARY
ISBN/ISSN: 0774814918
This volume reflects the growing interest among Canadian legal historians with comparative studies of English settler colonies and the rule of law. Focused primarily on Canada, Australia, and New Zealand (but with some discussion of the United States and South Africa), the volume's 13 chapters address the following themes: the differing reception and translation of common law doctrines, the influence of local histories on legal developments; judicial biography; how law operates "at the boundaries" (e.g. towards Aboriginal people in Australia or at sea); and "constitutionalism" in the sense of the fundamental construction of the legal order.
L'évolution de la protection de l'enfance au Québec [ressource électronique] : des origines à nos jours - Renée Joyal.
Call Number: E-BOOK
ISBN/ISSN: 2760510816
Feedback
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait