Film Studies Map
For more information on how to write your Film Studies Paper, please click on the words and images below. For a textual explanation of how to get started, click here. Please see the tutorials on how to find information at the University of Alberta.
Comments (0)
Getting Started
In preparing to look for information,
- determine what is your research question.
- Define the various problems or questions posed in your initial question: limit, label, question, hypothesize
- Your thesis should not be too broad nor too narrow and should lead to original ideas with insights
- Consult reference works for background information on your topic
- Choose a search system to answer your question(s)
- Find primary and secondary resources
- Find books, electronic and print indexes, Web resources…
- Find videos
- Formulate a query depending on the search system
- Library Catalogue Help
- Ask Us for help
- Execute the search
- Examine and assess/evaluate the results of your search
- Save the results and Extract information
- Reflect, write, reiterate, stop
Please see the tutorials on how to find information at the University of Alberta.
Canadian Journal of Film Studies
Loading...
National Film Board of Canada
- EUscreen: free online access to videos, stills, texts and audio from European broadcasters and audiovisual archives
- French Television Videos
- Latin American and Spanish Online Videos on the Internet: A Guide to Web Resources
- National Film Board of Canada: Streaming Video is available from the library databases.
- Movie Archive: provides an archive of downloadable movies
- Museum of Broadcast: collect, preserve, and present historic and contemporary radio and television content
- FedFlix: videos of the United States Government, from training films to history.
- Public Moving Image Archives and Research Centers from around the world (National Film Preservation Board)
- Moving Image Collections: MIC lets you discover, locate, and even (in some cases) view moving images from around the world.
- Theatre in Video
- The Video Librarian (includes a database of video reviews)
Librarian Profile |
Contact Info 1-01K Rutherford South University of Alberta Edmonton, Alberta T6E 2J4 Canada Tel.: 780.492.1412 Send Email |



