About this Guide
This guide gives an overview of health sciences resources available for mobile devices such as smartphones and tablet computers. It includes licensed resources available only to the U of A community, as well as free resources that may be of interest to health professionals.
This guide is not comprehensive and is intended only as a starting point. If you have any questions or recommendations regarding the content in this guide, please contact us.
UAlberta Mobile
- UA Library Mobile
Mobile friendly access to the catalogue, articles, e-resources, My Account, locations, and hours. - UAlberta Mobile
University of Alberta apps
Health Sciences Apps
The following resources are available in app format. They are free for University of Alberta faculty, staff and students. You will need to register for access; instructions on how to register and install are provided below.
- DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool designed for health care professionals for use at the point-of-care. DynaMed consists of nearly 3000 clinically-relevant topic summaries. Also includes AHFS Drug Information.
Available for Blackberry, iPhone/iPod Touch, iPad, Android, Palm OS and Windows Mobile.
How to Install - LexiComp
Lexi-Comp is a comprehensive drug information tool for use at the point of care. It contains clinical modules with information about drug interactions, identification, calculations, toxicology, and patient education.
Register for access
How to Install - StatRef
StatRef is an electronic reference that integrates 60+ core medical, nursing and pharmacy texts.
How to Install - PEPID
Clinical reference tool that includes disease and trauma topics, and over 7,500 drugs with dosing information. Large selection of medical calculators.
Available for Blackberry, iPhone/iPod Touch, iPad, Android, Palm OS, Windows Mobile.
Register for Access
How to Install - First Consult
Designed for use at point of care, it provides instant, user-friendly access to the latest information on evaluation, diagnosis, clinical management, prognosis, and prevention.
Available for iPhone/iPod Touch, iPad
How to Install - Natural Standard
Evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. All monographs undergo blinded editorial and peer review prior to inclusion in Natural Standard databases.
Available for Blackberry, iPhone/iPod Touch, iPad, Android, Palm OS and Windows Mobile
Register for access
How to Install
Health Sciences Web Apps
The following resources offer mobile-optimized versions that are accessible through the web browser on a smartphone or any web-enabled mobile device.
- Access Medicine Mobile
Access Medicine on your mobile, including Harrison's Practice, Diagnosaurus, Quick Answers, and more.
How to Access - MD Consult Mobile
Free access to MD Consult Mobile through web-enabled smartphones. Features books, journals, clinics, images and guidelines.
How to Access - STATRef Mobile
StatRef is an electronic reference that integrates 60+ core medical, nursing and pharmacy texts. - JAMA Evidence
Learn more about evidence based medicine. Includes the Users' Guides to the Medical Literature.
How to Access - Psychiatry Online
Free access to Psychiatry Online through web-enabled devices.
How to Access
Health Sciences Databases
Need to find a few articles quickly? Most of our top health sciences databases are available in mobile format.
- MEDLINE
Ebsco version of the MEDLINE database - CINAHL
Nursing and Allied Health - PubMed Mobile
The new PubMed Mobile interface from the National Library of Medicine. Does not include Get-It links to U of A journal holdings. - Scopus (iOS app)
The Scopus iOS App works on iPhone, iPod Touch and iPad. Requires free account registration. - Ebscohost (iOS App)
Use the Ebscohost iOS app to access all of the library's Ebsco databases, including Academic Search Complete, CINAHL, MEDLINE, and SportDiscus. Requires free Ebsco account registration. - SciFinder
Chemistry database
Discounted Resources for U of A Faculty, Staff and Students
Many practice guidelines and textbooks are available through Skyscape. Skyscape, in collaboration with the University of Alberta Libraries, offer a 25% discount on purchases for mobile devices.
Subject Guide |
Elaine Simpson Links: Profile & Guides |
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info J.W. Scott Health Sciences Library 2K4.02 W.C. Mackenzie Centre University of Alberta Edmonton, AB, Canada 780-492-7952 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
