Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register - Bibliographic information on controlled trials
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care
Cochrane Methodology Register - Database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness - Critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere
Economic Evaluation Database - Contains summaries of economic evaluations of healthcare interventions.
Health Technology Assessment Database - Contains summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments from around the world
In addition, there are links to the Cochrane Collaboration and detailed resources essential to the preparation of systematic reviews, to a critical understanding of clinical literature, and to understanding the concepts behind evidence-based health care.
Topics in PEN address the broad spectrum of practice in nutrition and dietetics including institutional care, primary health care, public/community health, consulting/private practice, food service management, professional education, food and the pharmaceutical industry and government. Recognized authorities on each topic or Knowledge Pathway addressed in PEN contribute to the identification of relevant literature from filtered and original sources and critically appraise, grade and synthesize that literature into key practice points or answers to practice questions. Additionally, best practice client and professional resources and other tools that are congruent with the evidence are included in PEN to support practice, along with standard Knowledge Pathway tools including backgrounds, evidence summaries and practice guidance summaries. As new science emerges, components of a Knowledge Pathway are updated in a timely way to ensure practice guidance always keeps in-step with change. Each Knowledge Pathway undergoes a complete review at regular intervals.