Journal Abbreviations
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature Abbreviations ListA listing of abbreviations contained in the Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL). Contains the majority of abbreviations for Canadian legal journals.
- Bluebook Abbreviations of Law Review TitlesComprehensive list of abbreviations for American legal journals.
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsAbbreviations for English language legal publications, from the British Isles, the Commonwealth and the United States, including those covering international and comparative law. A wide selection of major foreign language law publications is also included.
Finding Journal Articles
Finding secondary sources, such as articles, is an important part of your research. Journal articles may be found by using journal indexes or through full-text searching of a journal database. Journal indexes attempt to be as inclusive as possible, indexing the entire "universe" of journals for a given period of time. Indexing involves a "human" element, giving consideration to the different areas of law that are touched by a given article. Full-text searching requires more precise search terms and strategies to avoid having too many undesirable search results, and may exclude on-point articles if the wrong search terms are used. Using both indexes and full-text searching are recommended for thorough research.
Top Journal Indexes & Full-text Databases
- HeinOnlineDefault search covers journals from all jurisdictions. Choose "Canadian Law" as a subject to focus your search.
- Index to Canadian Legal Literature (ICLL)The top Canadian journal index, covering 1985-present. Also available in print at KE 173 C216 (Reference). The print version also indexes pre-1985 articles.
- Index to Legal Periodicals & Books FulltextA top index for U.S. articles, this database also has excellent coverage of Canadian literature, plus other jurisdictions. Covers 1981-present, including the full-text of most articles.
- Legal Scholarship Network (SSRN)Working papers and research materials
- LegalTracAlso known as Current Law Index, this index has good U.S. and Canadian coverage, plus other jurisdictions. Covers 1980-present, including the full-text of many articles.
- LexisNexis QuicklawClick the Journals tab and enter search terms to search a selection of Canadian journals.
- WestlawCanadaUnder the LawSource tab, click Law Reports Articles and Journals and enter search terms to search a selection of Canadian journals.
Periodicals: Scholarly or Popular?
Not all periodicals are intended for the same purpose.
Scholarly Journals:
- articles include a bibliography
- include author's credentials
- include reports of original research
Popular Magazines:
- glossy and attractive
- include lots of ads
- do not include bibliographies with articles
Interlibrary Loan Services
For articles in journals not subscribed to by the University of Alberta, please use Interlibrary Loans and Document Delivery to request copies.


Loading...
