Environmental Issues
This is the "Home" page of the "Documentaries and Films in Law Library Reserve Room" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Documentaries and Films in Law Library Reserve Room   Tags: documentary, dvd, video  

The Law Library has an extensive collection of video material (both in VHS and DVD format), including a large number of documentaries.
Last Updated: May 7, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.ualberta.ca/lawvideo Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Video Collection in the Law Library Reserve Room

The Law Library has an extensive collection of video material (both in VHS and DVD format), including a large number of documentaries. Most of the collection is housed in the Reserve room, with loan periods varying from 3 hours to 1 week, depending on whether it is on reserve for a specific class or not.

The video materials housed in the Reserve Room are generally available to be borrowed by anyone with university borrowing privileges (except when needed for a specific class). The occasional item is restricted to borrowing by U of A Faculty, staff or students. These items are clearly marked, and so noted in the alphabetic listings via the tabs above.

Virtually all videos in the Law Library Reserve Room have Public Performance Rights for faculty and students of the University of Alberta ONLY..

If the video you wish to use has a label on it that says: 'Public Performance may be covered through Criterion or Audio Cine Films licenses. Contact University of Alberta Copyright & Licensing Office.' then you will need to check if the movie is covered by license and fill out a log. http://www.copyright.ualberta.ca/Instruction.html#Movies

This material can be reserved for use in a class by contacting the Service Desk at 492-3371, or sending an email to lawinfo@library.ualberta.ca.

Click the tabs above to access the titles & call numbers of the video tapes and DVDs in the Law Library Reserve Room. If we have found any online information, we have linked the title to it.

 

Streaming Video

Films on Demand Contains instructional and educational streaming videos from sources such as Films for the Humanities & Sciences and Cambridge Educational in addition to a number of news outlets such as PBS, CNBC, and National Geographic.
Collection is licensed for members of the University of Alberta for classroom teaching, research, presentations, and educational non-commercial multimedia projects for use in educational institutions

Access to NFB.ca, the National Film Board of Canada's streaming video archive, is available for personal use subject to the notices on their site. Additionally, this archive is licensed for members of the University of Alberta for public exhibition, i.e. "the free exhibition of the Websites, including any and all parts of its Content, within the premises of the Institution, in streaming mode, excluding any downloading or reproduction of the Content".
To see samples of items available, type either of these titles into search box on NFB screen:

The CBC has a digital archives.

Check Before You Copy www.copyright.ualberta.ca

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip