Skip to main content

Linking to Library Online Resources

Linking Principles

How to create a persistent link directly to a journal article will depend on the source of the article, i.e. which publisher's site it is available from or which aggregator provides access to the journal, but the basic rule of thumb is to locate a link to the article reference and embed the EZProxy prefix (http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=).  Please refer to the tip sheets at the left for information on creating persistent links from specific publishers/databases. 

NOTE: An ‘aggregator’ is a database that obtains the full-text of articles from various publishers and makes the full-text available directly within the database.   Many of our EBSCO and ProQuest databases are 'aggregators'.   In some cases, the library may license full-text from a particular journal via the publisher website as well as from within one or more aggregator databases.   In other cases, the article might be available via an aggregator database but not from the publisher website.

 

If the full-text of an article is available from more than one source, use the following to guide your decision regarding which source to use:

  1. If one of the sources of full-text is via the publisher website, link to this version.
  2. If full-text is available via an Open Access source, link to this version.
  3. If none of the sources of full-text includes the publisher website or an Open Access source, select an aggregator that includes the EZProxy prefix with its persistent links, if possible.
  4. If full-text is available via a number of aggregators, but not from the publisher website or an Open Access source, consider using the OpenURL (GetIt) method of linking to the article.

NOTE:  In some cases, you can use an article DOI (digital object indicator) to link to full-text.  HOWEVER, the DOI link will only work when the University of Alberta has a license for the journal via the publisher website.  If our access to full-text is via an aggregator database, do NOT use the DOI to link to full-text.

If access is provided via a publisher website, and a DOI is available, use the following prefix for the DOI:

http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/

For example, a complete DOI link would appear as follows:

http://login.ezproxy.library.ualberta.ca/login?url=http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/j.bodyim.2010.10.002

ALWAYS TEST YOUR PERSISTENT LINKS TO ENSURE THEY WORK, AND TEST THEM PERIODICALLY, e.g. BEFORE THE BEGINNING OF EACH TERM, TO ENSURE THEY CONTINUE TO WORK.