Mechanical Engineering

Featuring contributions from more than 160 global experts, Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, Twelfth Edition, offers instant access to a wealth of practical information on every essential aspect of mechanical engineering. It provides clear, concise answers to thousands of mechanical engineering questions. You get accurate data and calculations along with clear explanations of current principles, important codes, standards, and practices. All-new sections including Applied Mechanics, Engineering Ethics, Digital Control Systems, Sensor and Actuators, Vehicle Electrification and Hybridization, and Nondestructive Testing. Coverage includes: * Mechanics of solids and fluids * Heat * Strength of materials * Materials of engineering * Fuels and furnaces * Machine elements * Power generation * Transportation * Fans, pumps, and compressors * Instruments and controls * Refrigeration, cryogenics, and optics * Applied mechanics * Engineering ethics

This first volume covers materials and mechanical design, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the most common topics you'll encounter in the discipline: carbon and alloy steels, stainless steels, aluminum alloys, copper and copper alloys, titanium alloys for design, nickel and its alloys, magnesium and its alloys, superalloys for design, composite materials, smart materials, electronic materials, viscosity measurement, and much more.

This second volume of Mechanical Engineers' Handbook covers electronics, MEMS, and instrumentation and control, giving you accessible and in-depth access to the topics you'll encounter in the discipline: computer-aided design, product design for manufacturing and assembly, design optimization, total quality management in mechanical system design, reliability in the mechanical design process for sustainability, life-cycle design, design for remanufacturing processes, signal processing, data acquisition and display systems, and much more.

This third volume of Mechanical Engineers' Handbook covers Manufacturing & Management, and provides accessible and in-depth access to the topics encountered regularly in the discipline: environmentally benign manufacturing, production planning, production processes and equipment, manufacturing systems evaluation, coatings and surface engineering, physical vapor deposition, mechanical fasteners, seal technology, statistical quality control, nondestructive inspection, intelligent control of material handling systems, and much more.

Volume 4: Energy and Power covers the essentials of fluids, thermodynamics, entropy, and heat, with chapters dedicated to individual applications such as air heating, cryogenic engineering, indoor environmental control, and more. Readers will find detailed guidance toward fuel sources and their technologies, as well as a general overview of the mechanics of combustion.

Comprehensive, up-to-date coverage of valves for the process industry Revised to include details on the latest technologies, Valve Handbook, Third Edition, discusses design, performance, selection, operation, and application. This updated resource features a new chapter on the green technology currently employed by the valve industry, as well as an overview of the major environmental global standards that process plants are expected to meet. The book also contains new information on: Valves used in the wastewater industry Applying emergency shutdown (ESO) valves Recent changes to shutoff classifications Valves specified for the nuclear industry The procurement process for the Nuclear Stamp (N-Stamp) The emergence of wireless technology and its application to current smart technology Characteristics of high-performance hydraulic fluid Valve Handbook, Third Edition, covers: Valve selection criteria Manual valves Check valves Pressure relief valves Control valves Manual operators and actuators Smart valves and positioners Valve and actuator sizing Green valve technology and application Common valve problems Valve purchasing issues