Subject Guides: Occupational Therapy: Grey Literature

Introduction to Grey Literature

Grey literature is any material published outside of mainstream book and journal publishing. This includes most webpages, government documents, theses, corporate documents, reports, conference proceedings, online handbooks and manuals, and much more.

Guide to searching the grey literature

Conference Proceedings

If you are aware of the major conferences covering your topic, you can directly search the conference websites. The following databases also include some conference proceedings:

EMBASE This link opens in a new window EMBASE (1974 to the present) is a medical database which covers a wide range of journals in the biomedical sciences. EMBASE is particularly useful for locating drug information, as it indexes many drug journals not covered by MEDLINE. PLEASE NOTE: Our EMBASE license allows for only four simultaneous users.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
To search just conferences, use the Conference Proceedings Citation Index
OCLC PapersFirst (via FirstSearch) Access to this database ended December 31, 2023.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window BIOSIS Citation Index adds citation analysis functionality to BIOSIS Previews. This analysis is more specific in focus than that provided within the BIOSIS Previews database, and useful for researchers who wish to limit citation analysis to Life Sciences publications. BIOSIS Previews combines the content from Biological Abstracts (Journals) and Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings).
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Other resources

Google Custom Search for Canadian Government Docs
Grey Lit Search Log
A basic template that you may use (and modify if you wish) to help you to keep track of your searches.

Theses

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Citation Index This link opens in a new window Also known as:|Dissertations and Theses Global|. Includes contributions from North American graduate schools and European universities. Coverage begins with the first U.S. dissertation accepted in 1861. UofA theses and dissertations are included from 1954 through 2014, with full text available for many, but not all, titles. NOTE: UofA no longer contributes content to this database.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

ERA (Education & Research Archive)
U of A's Institutional Repository
more...less...
Look for U of A Masters Theses & PhD Dissertations here.

Occupational Therapy

Introduction to Grey Literature

Conference Proceedings

Other resources

Theses

Health Sciences Grey Literature Collection