Journal coverage of PubMed and MEDLINE (OvidSP) is the same. Main difference: PubMed is a few days more current than MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Medline (1950 to Present) and contains "epubs before publication".
Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included.
Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Methods studies, Economic Evaluations, and Health Technology Assessment
The Cochrane Library includes:
The Cochrane Controlled Trials Register - Bibliographic information on controlled trials
The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - Regularly updated reviews of the effects of health care
Cochrane Methodology Register - Database of studies relevant to the methods of systematic reviews of healthcare and social interventions.
Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effectiveness - Critical assessments and structured abstracts of good systematic reviews published elsewhere
Economic Evaluation Database - Contains summaries of economic evaluations of healthcare interventions.
Health Technology Assessment Database - Contains summaries of completed and ongoing health technology assessments from around the world
In addition, there are links to the Cochrane Collaboration and detailed resources essential to the preparation of systematic reviews, to a critical understanding of clinical literature, and to understanding the concepts behind evidence-based health care.
Topic areas include administration, curriculum and instruction in all subject areas, child development, learning and cognition, philosophy and history of education. References to journal articles (those references labelled "EJ" in the accession number field) and microfiche documents (those references labelled "ED" in the accession number field) are included in the two ERIC files
Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.
The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)