Login | Tech Support
IMPORTANT announcement for all RefWorks users:
(9:30 am, Thursday, June 25, 2015) Direct Export functions now have been restored to OVID database platforms.
Following the June 18, 2015 migration of all UofAlberta RefWorks accounts to RefWorks’ main servers based in the United States, you may receive an email message from ProQuest if you have been assigned a new login. You can change this assigned login from within your own account under "Update Profile."
The WNCSubscriberID Properties value should be changed to 1980 for documents created prior to the June 18, 2015 migration of accounts.
Please direct any questions to:
Login to RefWorks - For Current Faculty, Staff and Students at the University of Alberta
- Login (Registered, and New Users)
- Group Code (No longer needed for logging in to RefWorks accounts, but still needed to log in to the Write-N-Cite plug-in for Word, and for the creation of new Refworks accounts outside of our IP-ranges).
Technical Support - Need help?
If RefWorks is not working correctly, ProQuest Support for RefWorks is available via E-mail to: email@example.com
ProQuest Support phone numbers and Hours of Service are:
+1. 800-521-0600 ext. 74440
Edmonton Hours of Service:
Monday – Thursday: 6:00 am – 9:00 pm
Friday: 6:00 am – 6:00 pm
Saturday: limited email support only
Sunday: 12:00 noon – 9:00 pm
- Check here first: Write-N-cite for RefWorks-specific FAQs
Still need help?
Contact us @ firstname.lastname@example.org for help using RefWorks or Write-N-Cite, to arrange for a group, class or individual tutorial in RefWorks. Please include the following info: Mac OS or PC user, web browser, operating system version, version of MSOffice installed; the nature of your problem.
NEW: Changes to RefWorks after the June 18, 2015 migration to the US ProQuest server
• Write-N-Cite users will need to re-install Write-N-Cite (now called ProQuest for Word) to continue using RefWorks with Word;
• The Group Code is no longer needed to Log In to a RefWorks account, but is still valid for use to log in to Write-N-cite and for creation of new RefWorks account(s) outside of our University IP-ranges (eg. Telus, Shaw; other ISPs).
• Current Word documents created using WNC under Scholars Portal will need to have the subscriber ID (WNCSubscriberID) value changed in their Word document Properties (See following notes, or Download illustrated PDF file versions below).
To continue working on any paper(s) started with Write-N-Cite BEFORE June 18, 2015, you will need to update a Word document Properties setting for each document.
In Windows - with your Word document open, go to the File==>Info==>Properties Menu;
· Click on the Properties drop-down menu on right; select Advanced Properties.
In Mac OS - with your Word document open, go to the File menu; click on the Properties option.
THEN, for both Windows and/or Mac OS:
· Click on the Custom Tab of the Properties Dialogue Box and click WNCSubscriberID field;
· In the Value: field, replace the current number (whatever is there) with 1980;
· Click Modify and then OK (You may need to log out of WNC, then back in again to effect changes).
Continuing to work with pre-June 18/15 Word files created using WNC
What is RefWorks
RefWorks is a web-based citation management program that enables users to:
- download, gather, and store references from literature databases and library catalogues automatically
- format citations and bibliographies in seconds
- connect to their RefWorks accounts anywhere there is web access
- share their citations with other RefWorks users and project collborators
GETTING STARTED: Sign up for a free RefWorks Account (you can create more than one account for yourself)
- Click on “Login (Registered, and New Users)”
- Select “Sign up for a New Account” – Complete the New User Information form; use your UofAlberta E-Mail Address.
- Click “Create Account” and start using RefWorks!
- You will receive a confirmation email with your login and password.
REFWORKS IN 4 STEPS
STEP 1 - Search Databases for articles, and export article citations to RefWorks.
- Select a database and conduct a search for articles.
- While viewing an interesting article, click “Add to Folder” or place a check mark next to the article (this varies with the database used); continue your search.
- When finished searching, locate the Marked Items folder (databases have different names for this folder, but they all function similarly) and export the citations. Be sure to select RefWorks as the export location!
- After exporting, RefWorks will open. Login!
- Click on “View Last Imported Folder” to see your imported citations!
STEP 2 - Organize your citations into customized folders.
- Create a new folder by clicking on “New Folder” (or Create Subfolder); provide a New Folder Name; then click “Create”
- Return to your imported citations list by clicking on “View è View Folder è Last Imported.”
- Place a check mark next to the citations you want to put in your new folder. Click on the “Add to” icon to move the citations.
- Check to see—click on “View è View Folder” then select your new named folder to see your moved citations.
STEP 3 - Use RefWorks’ Write-N-Cite (WNC 4) feature to quickly add in-text citations to your research paper.*
- Write-N-Cite is a RefWorks utility. Download it from RefWorks by clicking “Tools”; then “Write-N-Cite.”
- “Choose Write-N-Cite for Windows” or “Write-N-Cite for Mac”; Click “Download”; Close all applications, and install the App.
- Open MicroSoft Word; WNC 4 (PC) now appears in the MS Word ribbon as the “RefWorks” Tab; Click the Refworks Tab to open the WNC button bar and “Log in”. On Mac OSx, WNC 4 appears as a floating toolbar.
- Click on the Folders to find the citations you want to use in your paper.
STEP 4 - Instantly generate a bibliography of all the articles you cited in your research paper!
- Select your Output Style (e.g. APA, MLA, IEEE, etc).
- In your MSWord document, place your cursor where you’d like to insert an in-text citation. Select the citation you want to insert. Click “OK”
- When you’ve written your paper and inserted all your in-text citations, place the cursor where the bibliography is to appear; Click “Bibliography Options ==> Insert Bibliography.”
- WNC4 inserts full citations and references directly into your document. A fully formatted bibliography should appear at the end of your paper.
- Write-N-Cite 4 processes “*.docx” files; the older Write-N-Cite 3 processed only "*.doc" files (Word 97-2003)