Latest Tweets
Rutherford Library on Facebook
How to Find Us
Campus Map of Library Locations

Parking is available in parking lots N and U (east of HUB mall, accessible from the intersection of 111 St. and 90 Ave., just south of Saskatchewan Drive).
Parking map
Rutherford Library
Rutherford Library is the largest library on campus with almost two million volumes and is the second largest research library in Canada. The collection consists of materials supporting the study, teaching and research needs of students and faculty in the humanities and social sciences. The Rutherford Library complex consists of two buildings joined by a sky-lighted galleria.
Rutherford North houses the majority of the library's collection on five floors.
- Service Desk (1st floor) - ask us for help
- Reserve Room (1st floor) - find reserve reading material for your courses
- Reference (1st floor) and some materials available at the Service desk.
- Music Library (2nd floor) - find sound recordings, printed music, books about music, and much more!
- Interlibrary Loans (1st floor) - get books and material not held by the U of A libraries
Rutherford South is home to:
- Bruce Peel Special Collections Library (lower level)
- Administration offices (1st floor)
- Computer labs (2nd floor)
- Study Hall and Reading Room (a.k.a "The Harry Potter Room" - 2nd floor)
Rutherford Library Collections
Reference Collection
- Reference material is located in Rutherford North, 1st floor
- Additional reference material (catalogue location: Information Desk) is held at the Service Des
- Located in Rutherford North, 2nd floor
- Find sound recordings, printed music, books about music and more. Ask staff at the Music Reference desk for help.
- 30 individual listening stations and one group listening/study room.
- Music Listening and Reserve hours
Microform Collection
- Located in Rutherford North, 2nd floor
- Micro Media Room also located in Rutherford North, 2nd floor - includes microfilm, microfiche and micro-opaque readers, DVD and VHS players.
- Guide to Research Collections in Microformat - Print: Z 883 A3 A54 2002 (Rutherford Information Desk, Microforms Reference and Music Reference)
- The University of Alberta Library system has full depository status with the governments of Alberta and Canada, as well as with some international organizations such as the United Nations and the European Union.
- We also have a comprehensive collection of publications and documents from the United States and the United Kingdom, as well as other Canadian provinces and municipalities, other national governments and international organizations.
- Government publications can be found in print, online and in micro format. Ask at the Service Desk for help with finding documents.
- Current print newspapers are located in the north-east corner of the 1st floor of Rutherford North.
- To find other Canadian, international, government and historical newspapers ask for assistance at the Service Desk.
Contact Us
Service Desk
Main Floor Rutherford North:
(780) 492-5791
E-mail: hssref2@ualberta.ca
Administration Office:
1-01 Rutherford South
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
T6G 2J8
CLICK HERE FOR LIBRARY HOURS
We Are Open
Contacts
Christine Brown
Head, Rutherford Library
christine.brown@ualberta.ca
(780) 492-1405
Lindsay Johnston
Public Services Manager
lindsay.johnston@ualberta.ca
(780) 492-0598
Liaison Librarians for the Faculty of Arts.
If you need immediate assistance please contact the Rutherford Service Desk at the numbers at the top of this page.
