Subject Guides: Statistical Sources: Statistics by Subject

Selected Statistical Sources by Subject

Selected statistical e-books, journals, and databases, both current or providing decades of statistical coverage, arranged by general subject heading:

Demographics and Society

Census of Canada

The Census of Population provides population and dwelling counts not only for Canada but also for each province and territory, and for smaller geographic units such as cities or districts within cities. The Census provides comprehensive information about Canada's demographic, social, and economic characteristics. The most recent census is available here. Older printed editions of the Census dating back to 1861 are available through the Rutherford Library, GOV DOC CA1 CS 9

Census Profile
Community profile statistics from the Census of Population for various levels of geography, including provinces and territories, census metropolitan areas, communities, and census tracts. Users can search for an area of interest by its place name, postal code or geographic code, or by browsing a list. Profiles from the latest (2016) Canadian Census results are available here, and are updated as new data are released.
Edmonton Municipal Census
Socio-economic data from Edmonton Municipal Censuses, by ward and name of neighbourhood.
Insights on Canadian Society
This journal brings together and analyzes a wide range of data sources in order to provide information on various aspects of Canadian society, including labour, income, education, social, and demographic issues that affect the lives of Canadians.
Canada Year Book
Published from 1867 to 2012, the Canada Year Book charted key trends and indicators in the nation's economy, population, society and environment. The Canada Year Book Historical Collection explores Canada’s statistical history in text, tables, charts, maps, and multimedia features from 1867-1967.
Historical Statistics of Canada
The 2nd edition of Historical Statistics of Canada was jointly produced by the Social Science Federation of Canada and Statistics Canada in 1983. It contains statistical tables on the social, economic and institutional conditions of Canada from the start of the Confederation in 1867 to the mid-1970s
Statistical Abstract of the United States
One-volume summary of United States census data and all other U.S. statistics, from Colonial times to 2012.
World Factbook
Basic statistical data and country profiles compiled by the C.I.A.

Economics

U of A Economic Statistics LibGuide
Bank of Canada - Statistics
The Bank of Canada provides current and historical statistics on interest rates, bond yields, C.P.I., exchange rates, inflation, money market yields, and many other financial and monetary indicators.
International Monetary Fund (IMF) Data
International Financial Statistics and other IMF statistical publications comprise time series summarizing every participating country’s balance of payments, with accompanying data on its principal components (trade and reserves), data on monetary expansion and contraction, government surpluses and deficits, production, prices, and interest rates. Generally, annual time series begin in 1948; quarterly and monthly entries in 1957.
Economic Insights
Articles in the Economic Insights series highlight issues related to the growth and development of Canada's economy. In some cases, these articles synthesize the results of previous research carried out by Statistics Canada; in others, they provide contextual information that accompanies the release of new data. Economic Insights features concise examinations of economic events, trends, and important structural changes in the economy.
Passport
This database is an amalgamation of three complimentary sources: World Marketing Data and Statistics provides demographic, economic, and marketing profiles of 207 countries. World Marketing Forecasts covers consumer market growth predictions for 330 consumer products over 52 countries. Consumer Lifestyles provides information on the purchasing habits of consumers in 60 countries.
Penn World Tables
International economics statistics.

Education

The Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program
The Pan-Canadian Education Indicators Program (PCEIP) draws from a wide variety of data sources to provide information on the school-age population, elementary, secondary and postsecondary education, transitions, and labour market outcomes. PCEIP products include tables, fact sheets, reports and a methodological handbook. They present educational indicators for all of Canada, the provinces, the territories, as well as selected international comparisons, and comparisons over time.
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
The UNESCO Institute of Statistics website is a portal to statistical tables and online publications on global trends and issues in the areas of education, literacy, culture, communication, and science and technology.

Health

U of A Health Statistics LibGuide

Law

Juristat
This ejournal provides detailed statistics and analysis on a variety of topics and issues concerning Canada's justice system. Annual Juristats are produced for: crime statistics, homicide, impaired driving, justice system resources and expenditures, youth court statistics, youth custody and probation and corrections statistics. Additional Juristats are also produced each year on current topics of interest to the justice community. Intended for use by those who have to plan, establish, administer and evaluate justice programs and projects.
Adult Criminal Court Survey
Statistics on federal statute charges heard in adult criminal courts from 1994/95-2009/10 collected by the Canadian Centre for Justice Statistics (CCJS) in collaboration with provincial and territorial government departments responsible for adult criminal courts. Includes information on the age and sex of the accused, case decision patterns, sentencing information regarding the length of prison and probation, and amount of fine, as well as case-processing data such as case elapsed time.

Science

National Climate Data and Information Archive
Climate statistics from Canadian weather stations.
Census of Agriculture, 2016 [Canada]: Farm Data and Farm Operator Data
Detailed statistics from the 2016 Canadian Census of Agriculture describing Canada's farms, farm output, and farm operators.
FAOStat
FAOSTAT is the U.N. Food and Agriculture Organization's database containing over 3 million time-series records covering international statistics in the areas of food production, land use, fisheries, forest products, pesticide use, food aid, and more.

SUBJECT LIBRARIAN

Anna Bombak

Email Me

Contact:

abombak@ualberta.ca