Need Help?
Phone: 780-492-7947
Email: jwsinfo@library.ualberta.ca
Make Appointment with a Librarian
Library Services
J.W. Scott Library

Address:
2K3.28 Walter C. Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre
University of Alberta
Edmonton, Alberta
Canada T6G 2R7
Directions:
Campus Map - #3
Popular Resources
- Access SurgeryProvides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries from a number of full-text sources. Also includes procedures and operations, videos, Board review, drug information and differential diagnosis
- MEDLINE (OvidSP)Biomedical journals. Same content as PubMed.
- PubMed (UA Access)Includes links to full text journal articles licensed by the University of Alberta. Can be used on-campus, or off-campus with authentication using a University of Alberta CCID.
- Cochrane LibrarySystematic reviews and clinical trials
- MD ConsultFulltext access to 45+ clinical journals, 35+ core medical textbooks, over 600 clinical practice guidelines, and drug information references
- DynaMedDynaMed is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for physicians and other health care professionals created for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'.
- TRIP: Turning Research Into PracticeSearches 25+ evidence-based sources and classifies results by type. Includes 'Answers' section for clinical questions.
Surgery 101 Podcast
"This podcast provides brief reviews of surgery topics for medical students. It was created by Dr. Parveen Boora and Dr. Jonathan White, and is supported by the Department of Surgery at the University of Alberta."
iTunes link: http://itunes.apple.com/ca/podcast/surgery-101/id293184847
Other Subject Guides
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide assists University of Alberta medical students and residents in the process of completing a Critically Appraised Topic (CAT).
1-Click Access to Library Resources
Sometimes you want to access library e-resources from off-campus without going through the library website Maybe somebody sent you an email or a Twitter link to a great journal article, or you were searching through Google Scholar. Rather than hitting a paywall, you can use these bookmarklets to quickly authenticate yourself as a UofA user and access the full text. It's quick and easy to install in your Web browser.
Internet Explorer users: right-click this link UA Access and select "Add to Favorites". You may be prompted with a security warning, but it is safe to click "Yes".
Firefox/Safari/Chrome/Opera users: click and drag this link to your Bookmarks toolbar: UA Access
Please note that this bookmarklet does not work for some resources. If you are still having trouble accessing a particular resource, use the library catalogue, database, or e-journal search instead.
Subject Librarian |
Contact Info John W.Scott Health Sciences Library 2K4.01 W.C. Mackenzie Centre University of Alberta Edmonton, AB, Canada 780-492-7915 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Liaison Librarian |
Contact Info J.W. Scott Health Sciences Library 2K4.02 W.C. Mackenzie Centre University of Alberta Edmonton, AB, Canada 780-492-7952 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |
Loading...


Loading...
