Subject Guides: Teaching Secondary Social Studies: Research Articles

Start Here

Education Multi-Database Search (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches 4 databases: Australian Education Index, CBCA: Social Sciences, Education Database, and ERIC.

Add Canad* or province name(s) to your search strategy as a separate concept to narrow the search results. (Canad* will search for Canadian or Canada.) For example: Canad* OR Alberta OR “British Columbia” OR “Prince Edward Island”...

Additional Search Tools

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Newspapers are a good source of Canadian "popular" literature on a research topic, especially if it is recent or local.
Coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
- Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
- Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
- Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
- Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
- Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
- Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
- National Post (October 27, 1998- )
- Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
- St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
- Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
- Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
- Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
- Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
- Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
Contains text in English and French / Français.
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Topics covered include: all levels of Education from early childhood to higher education and all educational specialties, such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding and related social issues.

Journals and Newsletters

Off Campus Access
Internet access to these titles may be limited to the University of Alberta community. Instructions for off-campus users are provided on the following web page.
Canadian social studies (Online)
Social education : journal of the National Council for the Social Studies
Social education (Online)
Internet Access: 1989-2000, 2009-
Social Studies
One World
A professional journal for social studies teachers published by the Alberta Teachers' Association.
Focus Newsletter
Published by the ATA Social Studies Council to keep members up to date with Social Studies education in Alberta.

Database Search Tips

Developing a search query can be a challenge, but please consider these tips:

Check out a database's Thesaurus to find appropriate keywords for the item for which you are looking.

A longer search query helps databases retrieve more specific resources

Using "OR" between terms will retrieve more results

Using "AND" between terms will retrieve less results