ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Database
Find U of A-Authored Theses and Dissertations: Library Catalogue
The Library Catalogue (below) is the recommended way to search for theses and dissertions produced at U of A.
- Search by Author, Title, Keyword (set the dropdown menu to "any field")
- Search by Department
- gets you all theses and dissertations associated with that department
- example: keyword search "university of alberta dept of english" (note: you must use the abbreviation "dept", not "department")

Find U of A-Authored Theses and Dissertations: Other Sources
Dissertations and Theses @ University of Alberta (ProQuest)
- PDF copies of many University of Alberta theses and dissertations, free to authorised users
- This database is a subset of ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
- Search Tips
ERA: Education and Research Archive, U of A's new institutional repository (IR)
D-Space, U of A's former institutional repository
- April 2009 to present
- all content is freely and publically downloadable in PDF format
- not comprehensive, see also Dissertations and Theses @ University of Alberta (below)
Paper Copies
After 1986: Search the library catalogue (above)
Before 1986: Contact Bruce Peel Special Collections Library (see below) to conduct a search by subject, author or department
University of Alberta theses and dissertations are almost all held offsite at BARD (see below). They may be requested for viewing or copying by contacting either:
- Bruce Peel Special Collections Library
- bpsc@library.ualberta.ca or 780-492-5998 or
- Book and Record Depository(BARD)
- request form or 780-248-1400
Contact page author
Find Theses and Dissertations Authored Elsewhere
Electronic copies
- Electronic copies of Canadian theses and dissertations published from 1998 to the present.
- More than 300,000 Canadian theses and dissertations on microfiche and available to borrow through an interlibrary loan
CARL Harvester (Canadian Association of Research Libraries Open Archives Metadata Harvester)
- Search all participating Canadian institutional repositories (pilot project)
- Europe E-theses Portal (DEEP)
NDLTD (Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations)
- Strong North American representation
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses - UK and Ireland
EThOS (Electronic Theses Online Service)
- United Kingdom theses from the British Library
- United Kingdom and Ireland
- English-language PhD dissertations from Sweden
OpenDOAR (Directory of Open Access Resources)
- Search for or within institutional repositories
- Strong European representation
Australasian Digital Theses Program
- Search across Australia and New Zealand's universities
Center for Research Libraries Global Resources Network Online Catalog
- International theses and dissertations
- Focus on sciences
- Trawls institutional repositories, but will not find all available theses and dissertations.
- Evaluate sources found on the open web carefully. For more information about assessing internet sources, see Critical Evaluation of Internet Resources
Paper copies
- Free service
- University of Alberta faculty, staff and students may request a loan through the university's Interlibrary Loans department
- Availability is dependent on the circulation policy of the holding library
- Requests can take 3-5 weeks to fill
- UMI Dissertation Express
- Unbound paper and microfiche copies may be purchased at a discounted price through Interlibrary Loans
Other languages
Multilingual:
- Proquest Dissertations and Theses: Full Text
- Click "More search options" to show the "Document language" dropbox
French:
Spanish and Portuguese:
-
- CyberTesis - Tesis electrónicas en
línea,
- Tesis españolas sobre América Latina, and
- Dialnet (Spain and Latin America)
- TESIS ELECTRÓNICAS -
UNAM
- Theses
and Dissertations in Spain and Portugal
- Biblioteca
Digital Brasileira de Teses e Dissertaçoes
Italian:
- Italian Theses
and Dissertations:
- Bibliografia nazionale italiana (BNI): doctoral theses
- WorldCat


Loading content... please wait
