This is the "Home" page of the "Traditional & Indigenous Healing" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Traditional & Indigenous Healing  

Last Updated: Feb 29, 2012 URL: http://guides.library.ualberta.ca/traditional_healing Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

I hope you find the resources and links on this library guide useful.

If you have comments on the guide or suggestions for additional content you would like to see included, please send an email to elaine.simpson@ualberta.ca

Contact The Library

Email:  jwsinfo@library.ualberta.ca

Phone:  780-492-7947

      
     

    Traditional & Indigenous Healing

    The University of Alberta Libraries’ new Traditional and Indigenous Healing Collection contains materials related to Chinese Traditional and North American Indigenous healing, as well as other healing traditions from around the world.  The collection is housed in the John W. Scott Health Sciences Library.  The focus of the collection is on healing in its most inclusive sense, incorporating the knowledge and wisdom of indigenous cultures and traditional healing practices from around the world.   Its current strengths are in aboriginal and Chinese medicine and its future development will include materials from diverse cultures and healing practices.

    Part of the collection has come from the Centre for Cross Cultural Study of Health and Healing in Department of Family Medicine, under the direction of Dr. Earle Waugh.  It reflects the University’s growing appreciation of the importance of tradition and culture in aboriginal health and healing.  A generous donation from Dr. Joel Wilbush has allowed us to purchase new materials, particularly in Chinese traditional medicine, which has enhanced an already strong collection in this area.

    The collection forms the foundation of a significant resource for the University and the wider community.  While designed to expose students in all health disciplines to cross cultural healing information, it will also be of value to other programs, such as Native Studies. 

    The role of the U of A Libraries is to support research, teaching and learning, and this collection will help us serve our increasingly diverse community of users. Not only will it provide the opportunity for our medical students and others, to learn about indigenous healing as part of their education, it will also be a place where anyone interested can discover and use the information they need in the books and videos.

    The Library and the University recognizes the richness of  our traditional and indigenous cultures, and is eager to work with the community to provide collections and services that meet the needs of students and faculty, as well as the wider community.  We hope that both the teachers and the learners, in the University and Community, will come here to explore the rich knowledge of traditional and indigenous healing. 

     

     

    Where is the Collection Located?

    Address:

    JWS Health Sciences Library
    2K3.28 Walter C. Mackenzie Health Sciences Centre
    University of Alberta
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Canada T6G 2R7

    Hours

    Directions:

    Campus Map - #3

    Directions to JWS from 87 Ave

    Directions to JWS from 112 St

    Directions to JWS from 114 St

     

    Check Before You Copy www.copyright.ualberta.ca

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip