The main search box on the library website searches the Library Catalogue and ~300 article databases and the Education & Research Archive (ERA)
There are various ways to limit searches, including to all or parts of the library catalogue. Need help? ASK US
U of A students and staff will be prompted to authenticate with CCID & password after beginning their search. This allows access to ebooks, ejournals, and other online materials that the library subscribes to.
Note: *CCID is your U of A email address WITHOUT "@ualberta.ca"
Guests can look up library holdings using the Guest Catalogue link above the seach bar.
What are you searching?
The print and ebook holdings in the NEOS Libraries catalogue AND ~300 databases AND the Education and Research Archive (ERA). All in one search.
UA current staff and students should login when prompted. All other users may search, but will not have access to subscription ebooks, journals, etc.
NEOS Library Catalogue: The print & online collections of UA Library + our NEOS partner libraries.
To search the Library Catalogue only, click the 'Catalog Only' box under the search bar.
Searching the Library Catalogue:
1. To limit your results to physical items and e-Books in the NEOS catalogue, click the 'Catalogue Only" box.
2. This is the top of the results screen.
3. Limiters to narrow your search are located in the column on the left. Limit to location, format, language, date and more.
eg: Under Publication Type, you can limit to e-Books. Under Location, you can limit to 'University of Alberta Internet'.
HELP: EBSCO Discovery Help Files or
Find Databases. Use a discipline-related database to help focus your search.
What are you searching?
Databases focus on the literature of a specific discipline and may include:
Find the databases that work for you:
HELP: Ask Us for help with identifying useful databases, search strategies, and research resources.
Use the Find EJournals search to:
See the "Find Books and Articles" or "Find Databases" tabs on this guide to learn more. Need help? Ask Us
Example Journal Search:
1. On the page, type the title of your journal into the search box, eg:
2. You will get a list of results.
In this case, there are many journals that start with the word Nature. Choose the first title link on the list:
3. This will lead you to a Get It window which lists all options for access to the journal through UAlberta Library subscriptions.
In the case of the journal, Nature, we subscribe to the full run of the journal directly through Nature publishing, which is indicated on the Get It screen. The Get It screen will include any Open Access holdings that are available to those of you who are not current UA students or staff.
4. Choose the link that corresponds to the date range that you need.
In this case, access to the entire run of Nature since 1869 is available through the publisher subscription that is linked at the bottom of the list.
Reach into the collections of:
For Current UA Students, Staff, Faculty
Instructions to turn on UALibrary "Get It" links:
In EDS, look for records that show a "RESTRICTED" status - this indicates that the digitized version of this book should be accessible via HathiTrust.
Reading & Using:
When viewed within HathiTrust, books now available through the Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS), have the label "Temporary Access".
"Temporary Access" books can be ready only online. You can check out a book for 1 hour. Your access will renew automatically at the end of that hour, unless another user requests the book after that hour is over.
Books marked "Limited (search-only)" are restricted and you cannot access them.
You can also access other books that are part of our usual access to HathiTrust - these are marked "Full View"
For terms of service, please review Canadian institutions participating in HathiTrust’s Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS)
HathiTrust provides the Accessible Text Request Service, which is designed specifically to permit access to copyrighted items for users with print disabilities. Please see the library`s Accessibility Instructions for Specific Library Resources for more information.