Early English Books OnlineAlso known as: |EEBO| Contains both plain text and digital facsimile page images of over 100,000 titles ranging from the first book published in English to the works of Shakespeare. Features titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Materials cover research interests in English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Early English Prose Fiction (1500-1700)Early English prose fiction contains the full text of over 200 works of fictional prose from the period 1500-1700. It includes Elizabethan fiction, Jest Books, collections of short pieces and novellas, Restoration fiction and works of popular fiction. Features brief author biographies.
Romanticism, Life Literature and LandscapeThe manuscript collections of the Wordsworth Trust includes working notebooks, verse manuscripts and correspondence of William Wordsworth and his fellow writers, including Dorothy Wordsworth, Samuel Taylor Coleridge, Thomas De Quincey and Robert Southey.
Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineAlso known as: | Gale 18th Century Collections Online| Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows searching and display of the digital images of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 18th Century.
Canadian PoetryCreated in partnership with the Electronic Text Centre at the University of New Brunswick Libraries. Contains the full text of more than 12,000 poems by 142 poets including Bliss Carman, Isabella Valancy Crawford and Archibald Lampman, and will soon offer a comprehensive survey of Canadian poetry from the seventeenth century to the early twentieth. Includes overviews of the lives and works of featured authors.
American Fiction, 1774-1920Contains more than 17,800 titles and encompasses prose fiction written by Americans from colonial times to the early twentieth century. The titles to the year 1900 include nearly all of the works found in Lyle H. Wright’s American Fiction: A Contribution Toward a Bibliography. The collection includes novels, short stories, romances, fictitious biographies, travel accounts and sketches, allegories, and tract like tales typifying the development of American literature.
Early American Fiction 1789-1875This database provides both images and text from more than 750 works of fiction by over 130 authors, including James Fenimore Cooper, Edgar Allan Poe, Robert Montgomery Bird, Washington Irving, Catharine Sedgwick, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Herman Melville and Thomas Bailey Aldrich. Also includes works by many minor writers of the period.
Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911)Editions and Adaptations of Shakespeare (1591-1911) contains the
full text of eleven major editions from the First Folio to the Cambridge Edition
of 1863-6, twenty-four contemporary printings of individual plays, selected
apocrypha and related works, and over 100 adaptations, sequels and burlesques.
Women Writers OnlineWomen Writers Online is a full-text database of pre-Victorian women's
writing including fiction, poetry, and drama plus women's contributions to
religious and political debates and to science, history, philosophy and
Black Women WritersContains fiction, nonfiction and poetry by women from North America, Africa and the Caribbean. When complete, will also present essays by scholars and feminists about the history of feminism and genre studies in these regions.
Latin American Women WritersWhen complete, will contain approximately 100,000 pages of prose, poetry and drama by women writers from Mexico, Central, and South America. As of July, 2005, prototype version contained about 4200 pages of prose and poetry.
Contains text in English, French / Français, Italian, Portuguese and Spanish languages.
Irish Women Poets of the Romantic PeriodIrish Women Poets of the Romantic Period includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Compiled and edited by Stephen Behrendt of the University of Nebraska, the database also offers numerous biographical and critical essays prepared by leading scholars specifically for the project. New content is added to the collection on a regular basis. It currently contains over 10,000 pages of poetry.
Orlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the PresentOrlando: Women's Writing in the British Isles from the Beginnings to the Present includes biographical and writing career entries on British women writers, selected non-British or international women writers, and selected British and international men. Also includes dated items representing events and processes (in the accounts of these writers, but also in the areas of history, science, medicine, economics, the law, and other contexts).
Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers, 1500-1700This resource is produced in association with the Perdita Project based at the University of Warwick and Nottingham Trent University.
The manuscripts in this site were written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries and they have been sourced from archives and libraries across the United Kingdom and the USA. One of the key attractions of Perdita Manuscripts is that it brings together little known material from widely scattered locations.