RILM Abstracts of Music LiteraturePublished by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York. Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
Over 500 scholarly journals are represented. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are included if they are of scholarly interest. Includes RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature.
Music IndexAlso known as: |The Music Index| Indexes over 655 international music periodicals offering access to historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseProvides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage ranges from 1864 to current. Full text is available for approximately 25% of the indexed journals.
Music Periodicals of the 19th CenturyThis is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. Users are able cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts available through other collections on the Alexander Street multimedia platform.
Also know as: |Arts & Humanities Full Text|. Contains text in Ancient Greek, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Bosnian, Cherokee, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, French / Français, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Latin, Maori, Middle English, Middle French, Old English, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Sanskrit, Scots, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Tagalog and Turkish languages.
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Do you want to find biographical information about a musician, or an overview of a genre of music? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Classical Music Reference LibraryClassical Music Reference Library brings together more than 30,000 pages of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form. This release includes 26,774 essays and images from 22 sources, over 15,001 pages.
Garland Encyclopedia of World MusicThe |Garland Encyclopedia of World Music| covers the music of all the world's peoples. The first release of the online version includes the complete contents of the the 10 volume print set. Future releases will contain more indexing as well as links to the associated audio examples for each volume.
Music Industry DataAlso known as: |Academic Charts Online (ACO)|ACO (Academic Charts Online)| Academic Charts Online (ACO) includes popular music charts from around the world, including charts from Billboard magazine in the US going back 60 years. Analytical tools enable scholars to compare artists in time and place, and derive important research work.