Peer Reviewed Journals
To determine whether a journal is peer reviewed, search for it in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: 
.
Articles - Philosophy
-
Philosopher's Index Philosopher's Index offers complete and index of all major articles from anthologies and books written in English, Spanish, German, Italian, and French -- over 480 journals from 38 countries published since 1940.
-
PhilPapers: Philosophical Research Online PhilPapers is an online research hub in philosophy that combines the following four services: 1) A publication index of philosophy journal articles, book reviews, books, and book chapters in all languages. 2) An open access aggregator that indexes open access philosophical content found on over one thousand open access archives and three thousand personal pages maintained by professional philosophers. 3) An open access archive that hosts the largest collection of open access philosophical material on the Internet (OAI-PMH handler here). 4) A structured bibliography comprising nearly five thousand subcategories covering all subjects in philosophy.
-
Historical Abstracts with Full Text Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
-
Arts & Humanities Database Arts & Humanities Full Text contains full text of journal articles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
-
Academic Search Complete Also known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Background Information
Are you looking for information about a philosopher's life or a definition of a term? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
-
Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
-
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy Comprehensive encyclopedia of philosophy, including Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy.
-
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy When complete, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy will cover all areas of philosophy.
Philosophy Texts Online
-
Intelex Past Masters Also known as: |Past Masters| InteLex Corporation’s Past Masters series encompasses the largest collection of primary source full-text electronic editions in philosophy in the world. The series includes significant collections in the history of political thought and theory, religious studies, education, German studies, sociology, the history and philosophy of science, economics, and classics.
-
Eighteenth Century Collections Online Also known as: | Gale 18th Century Collections Online| Eighteenth Century Collections Online allows searching and display of the digital images of books, pamphlets, and broadsides published during the 18th Century.
Have a Question?
Augustana Campus Library
Contact:
augustana.reference@ualberta.ca
780-679-1156
University of Alberta
Augustana Campus
Camrose, AB T4V 2R3
780-679-1156
University of Alberta
Augustana Campus
Camrose, AB T4V 2R3