ATLA Religion DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowPublished by the American Theological Library Association, this database provides international coverage of topics such as Biblical studies, world religions, Church history, and religious perspectives on social issues.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Catalan, Chinese, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French / Français, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Icelandic, Italian, Japanese, Latin, Lithuanian, Low German, Norwegian, Polish, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian and Yiddish languages.
Historical AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowHistorical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
Index IslamicusThis link opens in a new windowIndexes literature on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Material cited includes work written about the Middle East, as well as other main Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim minorities elsewhere. Over 2,000 journals are monitored for inclusion in the database, together with conference proceedings, monographs, multi-authored works and book reviews. Produced by the Islamic Bibliography Unit at Cambridge University Library.
New Testament Abstracts OnlineThis link opens in a new windowNew Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Weston Jesuit School of Theology. It covers the New Testament and its historical milieu. Article coverage dates back to 1985.
Old Testament Abstracts OnlineThis link opens in a new windowOld Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. Indexes and abstracts journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. All abstracts are in English, regardless of the language of the original work. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more. Coverage in the database dates back to 1978.
Arts & Humanities DatabaseThis link opens in a new windowArts & Humanities Full Text contains full text of journal articles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Also know as: |Arts & Humanities Full Text|. Contains text in Ancient Greek, Arabic, Basque, Bengali, Bosnian, Cherokee, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, French / Français, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hindi, Indonesian, Italian, Latin, Maori, Middle English, Middle French, Old English, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, Sanskrit, Scots, Serbian, Slavic, Slovenian, Spanish, Tagalog and Turkish languages.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Are you looking for an overview of a religious movement or a definition of a term? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Bible in English (990-1970)This link opens in a new windowThe Bible in English contains twenty-one versions of the Bible,
including thirteen complete Bibles and full New Testaments in five other
versions. Particular attention has been given to the Renaissance period. Texts
from the Protestant, Roman Catholic and non-conformist traditions are
represented. An example translation the King James Bible