BIOSIS Citation IndexAlso known as: |Biological Abstracts| BIOSIS Citation Index adds citation analysis functionality to BIOSIS Previews. This analysis is more specific in focus than that provided within the BIOSIS Previews database, and useful for researchers who wish to limit citation analysis to Life Sciences publications. BIOSIS Previews combines the content from Biological Abstracts® (Journals) and Biological Abstracts/RRM® (Reports, Reviews, and Meetings).
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid)Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE(R) Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
History of Science, Technology & MedicineAlso known as: |HistSciTechMed| Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Are you looking for an overview of a particular organism or biological concept? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)The Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences is a work in progress. When complete in 2001 it will comprise over 12 million words, 4,000 articles, 7,500 illustrations, 180,000 index entries and 26,000 links. It will be constantly updated online
Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited DiseaseAlso known as: |OMMBID| OMMBID is a comprehensive text on genetic disorders,the molecular and metabolic underpinnings of diseases as well as updates on pathophysiology and treatment. Includes chapters on the history of the inborn errors of metabolism, their impact on health, and their response to treatment. Covers genetic perspectives, basic concepts, how inherited diseases occur, diagnostic approaches, and the effects of hormones, as well as coverage of specific syndromes and specific body systems affected by disease.