Chemistry & Physics - Sciences - Augustana Library - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Peer Reviewed Journals

To determine whether a journal is peer reviewed, search for it in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: .

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles and more.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window "SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or using the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions."
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reaxys This link opens in a new window Reaxys is a tool for the retrieval of information and data on chemical structures, reactions, and properties. It covers chemical compounds, reactions, properties, related bibliographic data, substance data with synthesis planning information, and experimental procedures from selected journals and patents. It can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, molecular formula, and physical property parameters.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection This link opens in a new window Web Of Science Core Collection includes Citation Indexes for Arts & Humanities, Sciences, Social Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus This link opens in a new window Provides indexing, abstracting of and citation linking to journals in science, technology, medicine, and the social sciences.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window Also includes Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Ovid MEDLINE® Daily MEDLINE (1946 to the present) covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature. The type of information contained in MEDLINE ranges from the basic biomedical sciences like anatomy, physiology, biochemistry to clinical information outlining the nature and course of disease or injury, as well as its treatment.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
History of Science, Technology & Medicine This link opens in a new window Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Search Strategies

Visit the Starting Your Research Guide to learn about finding specific books and articles, choosing a topic and keywords, putting a search together, evaluating information sources, and more.

Chemical Properties and Reactions

The following resources include both text-based and visual information about chemical properties and reactions.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Handbook of Chemistry and Physics| Coverage includes physical constants of organic compounds, properties of the elements and inorganic compounds, thermochemistry, electrochemistry and kinetics, fluid properties, biochemistry, analytical chemistry, and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window "SciFinder-n, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS), is the most comprehensive database for the chemical literature, searchable by topic, author, substances by name or CAS Registry Number, or using the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions."
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reaxys This link opens in a new window Reaxys is a tool for the retrieval of information and data on chemical structures, reactions, and properties. It covers chemical compounds, reactions, properties, related bibliographic data, substance data with synthesis planning information, and experimental procedures from selected journals and patents. It can be searched in a number of ways, including by chemical structure, molecular formula, and physical property parameters.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current Chemical Reactions This link opens in a new window This database delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams,critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Organic Reactions This link opens in a new window Contains information on synthetic reactions, organized primarily by reaction type. Each major component contains a critical discussion of the featured type of reaction as well as a step-by-step guide to performing it. Dedicated compilations of information about each reaction include extensive tables that catalog all published examples of the reaction in the literature, as well as safety and procedural guidance to help ensure safety and success in their execution.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Each reaction type is evaluated through a comprehensive peer-review process. Contains exhaustive detail on the individual reactions as well as links to published examples.

Background Information

Are you looking for an overview of a certain chemistry concept or a definition of a term? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.

A Dictionary of Chemistry Contains entries covering all commonly-encountered terms in chemistry.
A Dictionary of Physics
- This link opens in a new window

Lecture Notes in Physics This link opens in a new window Fulltext of electronically published titles from Springer's Lecture Notes in Physics series.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Also known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Have a Question?

Augustana Library

Contact:

University of Alberta
Augustana Campus
Camrose, AB T4V 2R3
Email Us

780-679-1156

Sciences - Augustana Library