Environment CompleteCovers applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, and urban planning. Contains records from domestic and international journals going back to the 1950s as well as from selected monographs. Features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles. Also includes full text from a number of publications.
Environmental Studies: Gale in ContextAlso known as: |Global Reference On The Environment/Energy/And Natural Resources| Formerly known as |GREENR| This database focuses on the study of sustainability and the environment, and covers content in the areas of the environment, and energy and natural resources. Topics covered include global warming, food safety, access to health care, and the impact of economic development on international relations.
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Are you looking for an overview of a particular environmental issue or a definition of a term? these are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (eLS)The Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences is a work in progress. When complete in 2001 it will comprise over 12 million words, 4,000 articles, 7,500 illustrations, 180,000 index entries and 26,000 links. It will be constantly updated online
Also known as: |Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences|
Audio, Video, and Images
Environmental Issues OnlineThis database brings together multimedia materials (text, archival primary sources, video and audio) around key environmental challenges, including climate change, water/air pollution, biodiversity, conservation, agriculture, deforestation and more. It is curated around specific environmental issues and events from the 20th and 21st centuries, and content is drawn from the social sciences, ecology and earth science, and the humanities.
Environmental Studies in VideoThis video collection covers all realms of Environmental Studies, particularly Ethics, Policy, Economics, Law, Sociology, Planning, and Environmental Science. Specific topics include alternative energy, pollution control, eco-design, sustainability, farming and agriculture, the food industry, LEED certification, waste issues, and climate change.