Indigenous Studies - Social Sciences - Augustana Library - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Peer Reviewed Journals

To determine whether a journal is peer reviewed, search for it in Ulrich's Periodicals Directory and look for the little referee symbol: .

Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Articles

Use these databases to find journal articles, book chapters, and more.

Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples in North America This link opens in a new window Covers the history and culture of Indigenous North Americans including archaeology, multicultural relations, gaming, governance, legend and literacy.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window The University of Saskatchewan's Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- This link opens in a new window
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window America: History and Life provides abstracts covering all aspects of the history of Canada and the United States from prehistorical times to the present. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: popular culture, anthropology, folklore, sociology, cultural studies, business, the arts, law, education and genealogy. Published since 1964.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
CPI.Q (Canadian Periodicals) This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q.)| CPI.Q. indexes titles with full text articles from periodicals (covering 1995 to present) as well as Gale Research reference data and the full text of selected sections of The Globe and Mail. CPI.Q. indexes Canadian and International journals, magazines, newspapers, and other references covering a broad range of topics, from current affairs and technology to arts and culture, geography, history,business and more.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Political Science Complete This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts journals in Political Science and povides full-text of select journals. Also includes full-text of select reference books, monographs, and conference papers.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window MLA International Bibliography (mainly abstracts) (1926 to the present) covers literature in English and in other modern languages; linguistics; folklore. It includes books (and chapters in books), journal articles, conference papers, and dissertations concerning general and comparative literature, linguistics in general and of all modern languages, all modern literatures, and folklore. No abstracts are provided, and there are no listings for book reviews.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window Coverage from 1900 to present.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Also known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.

Search Strategies

Visit the Starting Your Research Guide to learn about finding specific books and articles, choosing a topic and keywords, putting a search together, evaluating information sources, and more.

Background Information

Are you looking for an overview of an historical event or an Indigenous Studies concept? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.

Native Peoples of the World: An Encyclopedia of Groups, Cultures, and Contemporary Issues Examines the world's indigenous peoples, their cultures, the countries in which they reside, and the issues that impact these groups.
Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada (Print Book)
Call number: E 78 C2 I68 2018

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window Also known as Gale Virtual Reference Library, this is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Primary Sources

Are you looking for primary source documents such as letters, diaries, speeches or video footage? The resources below are good places to start. For more information and resources, visit the Primary Sources Guide.

iPortal: Indigenous Studies Portal Research Tool This link opens in a new window The University of Saskatchewan's Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- This link opens in a new window

The Virtual Museum of Metis History and Culture Gabrielle Dumont Institute of Native Studies and Research
Blackfoot Digital Library

Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures and the Environment This link opens in a new window Also known as: |EENA| Contains letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters with North American people. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the United States with some limited coverage of Mexico.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window Also known as: |North American Indian Biographical Database| Contains biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. Includes biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs.
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Have a Question?

Augustana Library

Contact:

University of Alberta
Augustana Campus
Camrose, AB T4V 2R3
Email Us

780-679-1156

Social Sciences - Augustana Library