Sociological AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowSociological Abstracts (1952 to the present) provides access to the
world's literature in sociology and related disciplines, including social
welfare, social planning, social policy and development. It covers articles from
over 2,000 journals, conference papers, dissertations, book reviews and selected
sociology books. It covers both the theoretical and applied aspects of sociology.
Contains text in English, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Dutch, Flemish, French / Français, German, Italian, Lithuanian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish and Turkish languages.
Anthropology PlusThis link opens in a new windowThis database includes the contents of Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. It provides extensive worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.
Communication & Mass Media CompleteThis link opens in a new windowCovers communication and mass media. Originated with the merging of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association (NCA)), and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Pennsylvania State University).
Criminal Justice AbstractsThis link opens in a new windowCovers the major journals in criminology and related disciplines, books, and reports from government and nongovernmental agencies. For each document, a summary of the findings, methodology, and conclusions is provided. Topics include crime trends, prevention projects, corrections, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, offenders, victims, and sentencing.
Academic Search CompleteThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
Are you looking for an overview of a sociological concept or a definition of a term? These are examples of the types of information you can find using the resources below. For more resources, visit Finding Background Information.
Gale Virtual Reference LibraryThis link opens in a new windowGale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research
Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology OnlineThis link opens in a new windowAlso known as: |Encyclopedia of Sociolog | The Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology provides comprehensive coverage of sociology and related disciplines.
SAGE Research MethodsThis link opens in a new windowSAGE Research Methods is a web-based research methods tool that covers quantitative, qualitative and mixed methods. Researchers can explore methods and concepts to help design research projects, understand a particular method or identify a new method, and write up research. Sage Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, and is of potential use to researchers from the social sciences, health sciences and other research areas.