Skip to main content
Library
FR Français

Orbis
  • licensed for U of A
Orbis
  • licensed for U of A

Subjects:
Types:
License:

Description

This is a global database which provides detailed information on millions of companies. It has extensive coverage of private companies and offers the comparing of companies internationally. The data solutions show what companies do, how they're performing and the people that run them. It also includes financial data, legal entity details, M&A activity and news.

More Info

Orbis provides information on close to 400 million companies (both private and public) and entities across the globe. 41 million of these have detailed financial information. There are three additional modules hosted on the Orbis platform:
  • EDGAR Filings are US SEC documents available for publicly quoted companies on US stock exchanges, banks, and insurance companies. Examples would be 8-K, 10-K, Proxy, and information statements.
  • News Service aggregates news pieces from several sources, including Acquire Media, Dow Jones, and Thomson Reuters. Access includes full articles and tags for topics, industries, and countries.
  • Zephyr is the most comprehensive database of deal information, and it is updated hourly, and is useful for corporate finance research. It contains information on M&A, IPO, private equity / venture capital deals, rumors, and other transaction-level details.

Conditions of Use

Use of this product is restricted to members of the University of Alberta community and to users of the Library's physical facilities. It is the responsibility of each user to ensure that they use this product for individual, non-commercial, educational or research purposes only, and do not systematically download or retain substantial portions of information.
title
Loading...