Subject Guides: Public Health: Articles

Welcome to the Geoffrey & Robyn Sperber Health Sciences Library! We are here to help you with your information needs. We provide a vast array of digital and physical resources, easily accessible through our Library Home Page. Whether you're onsite or remote, our team is ready to assist. Use the 'ASK US' link for a live chat during business hours, email, or phone support, or to schedule a consultation with a librarian. While most of our collections are electronic, we do have on-site books. Located in the Edmonton Clinic Health Academy (ECHA), our space features computer stations, various study areas, bookable study rooms, treadmill desks, and our Service Desk with dedicated Information Services Specialist staff.

Popular Databases

MEDLINE (1946-present via Ovid) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical and Health Research. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine
PubMed (with links to UofA e-journals) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journal coverage of PubMed and MEDLINE (OvidSP) is the same. Main difference: PubMed is a few days more current than MEDLINE(R) In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations and Medline (1950 to Present) and contains "epubs before publication".
CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Nursing, Allied Health, and Health Services
The Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library (LHCADL) is an initiative established by the Alberta Government. It was created as a legacy to the late, the Honourable Lois Hole to continue her vision of greater learning opportunities for all Albertans.
For additional information, go to the Lois Hole Campus Alberta Digital Library information site.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Biomedical database with a focus on drugs and pharmaceuticals

Citation Databases

Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary citation database, with citation data from 1996-present.
Web of Science - All Databases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary Citation Database, with citation data from 1899-present, plus conference proceedings.

Other Health Databases

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Systematic Reviews, Randomized Controlled Trials, Methods studies, Economic Evaluations, and Health Technology Assessment
The Cochrane Library includes:
- The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews
- Cochrane Protocols
- Cochrane Controlled Register of Trials (CENTRAL)
- Cochrane Editorials
- Cochrane Clinical Answers
- Cochrane Special Collections
ERIC (via EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Education
Global Health This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Global Health provides an alternative, complementary point of reference with a broad analysis of foreign language journals, books, research reports, patents and standards, dissertations, conference proceedings, annual reports, public health, developing country information, and other difficult to obtain material.

The Global Health database covers the following aspects of human health and disease:
- communicable diseases (including HIV/AIDS)
- tropical diseases, i.e, diseases in the tropics (including field and experimental studies)
- parasitic diseases and parasitology - medical entomology
- human nutrition (including food composition, food poisoning, effects of diet on health, nutritional disorders, and experimental aspects)
- community and public health (including chronic diseases, occupational health, health status indicators, the impact of agriculture on health, and cancer epidemiology)
- medicinal and poisonous plants (including pharmacology, tissue culture, animal studies, plant composition, allergens, and toxins)

Health Evidence
Research for evidence-informed decision making

Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools

PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window