Skip to Main Content

Religious Studies

Specialized search databases

Religion Databases

Christianity-specific databases

History Databases

Background & Reference

Search the library:  combine these with your broad topic(s).

  • encyclopedia(s); encyclopaedia
  • dictionary; dictionaries
  • companion
  • handbook
  • introduction
  • guide

Examples: 

encyclopedias AND christianity

(companion OR handbook) AND protestant


Collections of Background Resources

Note: search the library for print versions of some titles, and for titles that are listed but not accessible.

Websites

Important: These links are out of our control. They may change or become dead unexpectedly.

The Bible

There is no single Bible.

Versions vary by time-period, translation, denomination, language, and arrangement of the books. 

Subject Terms / Keywords

Use in basic search or "subject" field search (usually in advanced search).

Some key ones:

  • Christianity
  • Catholic (ism)
  • Protestant (ism)
  • Mennonite
  • Eastern Orthodox Church
  • [try other denominations]

  • "religious aspects"
  • ritual; rituals; liturgy; worship
  • doctrines
  • "customs and practices"
  • "study and teaching"

  • "Old Testament"
  • "New Testament"
  • "Apocrypha books"
  • "bible commentaries"

For example:

christianity AND "study and teaching"

TIP: keep track of useful subject terms for future searching.

Call Numbers. Shelf Browsing.

Explore the shelves physically and "virtually" (through call number searching).

  • BS  The Bible
  • BT Doctrinal theology
  • BV Practical theology

Further breakdowns here (click on B section):

New books in the UAlberta Library