Latest Thinking is an open-access video journal that provides summaries of research findings from several branches of academics, including biology, physics, chemistry, life sciences, physical sciences, and more.
The goal of Latest Thinking is to increase the impact of the author’s research and promote transparency of the scientific process.
Each video averages around 10 minutes and contains five parts: research question, methods, findings, relevance, and outlook. The videos are based on original research published in another scholarly publication, sometimes a publication with large subscription fees.
In the videos of the journal, authors make their research more accessible by explaining their work in language that is easier to understand. Some videos include animations and illustrations that help demystify abstract concepts and unfamiliar terminology.
Topics include agricultural, veterinary and food sciences.
Atlas of Animal Anatomy and HistologyThis atlas presents the basic concepts and principles of functional animal anatomy and histology thereby furthering our understanding of evolutionary concepts and adaptation to the environment. It provides a step-by-step dissection guide with numerous colour photographs of the animals featured. It also presents images of the major organs along with histological sections of those organs. A wide range of interactive tutorials gives readers the opportunity to evaluate their understanding of the basic anatomy and histology of the organs of the animals presented.
Comprehensive BiotechnologyComprehensive Biotechnology, Third Edition unifies, in a single source, a huge amount of information in this growing field. The book covers scientific fundamentals, along with engineering considerations and applications in industry, agriculture, medicine, the environment and socio-economics, including the related government regulatory overviews. This new edition builds on the solid basis provided by previous editions, incorporating all recent advances in the field since the second edition was published in 2011. Offers researchers a one-stop shop for information on the subject of biotechnology Provides in-depth treatment of relevant topics from recognized authorities, including the contributions of a Nobel laureate Presents the perspective of researchers in different fields, such as biochemistry, agriculture, engineering, biomedicine and environmental science
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food SystemsEncyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
Encyclopedia of Animal ScienceContaining case studies that complement material presented in the text, the vast range of this definitive Encyclopedia encompasses animal physiology, animal growth and development, animal behavior, animal reproduction and breeding, alternative approaches to animal maintenance, meat science and muscle biology, farmed animal welfare and bioethics, and food safety. With contributions from top researchers in their discipline, the book addresses new research and advancements in this burgeoning field and provides quick and reader-friendly descriptions of technologies critical to professionals in animal and food science, food production and processing, livestock management, and nutrition.
Encyclopedia of Dairy SciencesDairy Science includes the study of milk and milk-derived food products, examining the biological, chemical, physical, and microbiological aspects of milk itself as well as the technological (processing) aspects of the transormation of milk into its various consumer products, including beverages, fermented products, contentraed and dried products, butter and ice cream. This new editionaincludes informationaon the possible impact of genetic modification of dairy animals, safety concerns of raw milk and raw milk products, peptides in milk, dairy-based allergies, packaging and shelf-life and other topics of importance and interest to those in dairy research and industry. *Fully reviewed, revised and updated with the latest developments in Dairy Science *Full color inserts in each volume illustrate key concepts *Extended index for easily locating information"
The Encyclopedia of Farm Animal NutritionThe Encyclopedia of Farm Animal Nutrition deals with the whole of farm animal nutrition, embracing a wide range of disciplines, including physiology, biochemistry, veterinary medicine and feed technology.The encyclopedia contains approximately 2000 entries from 90 contributors. These entries range from short definitions to more discursive articles, all entries are fully cross-referenced to aid further research.The encyclopedia covers every type of farm animal found in both developing and developed countries, including cattle, sheep, pigs, chickens, goats, horses, fish, deer, buffaloes, rabbits and camelids, as well as ducks, turkeys, ostriches and other birds.Sample Entries: Acylglycerol, A form of lipid made up of one glycerol molecule combined with three individual (not necessarily identical) fatty acid molecules attached to the glycerol by ester bonds. Acylglycerols form part of the neutral lipid fraction.Free fatty acids (FFAs), Also called non-esterified fatty acids (NEFAs), fatty acids that are not esterified to glycerol or another alcohol such as choline or cholesterol. In blood plasma or serum, FFAs are really not free but bound to plasma albumin.Locust bean, Properly the fruit of the African locust bean tree (Parkia filicoidea) but the name is frequently applied to the fruit of the carob tree (Ceratonia siliqua). The latter originated in the eastern Mediterranean region and is also found in the subtropics. The fruits are thick, fleshy (more so in the carob) pods each containing about a dozen seeds. The seeds are tough and must be crushed before feeding. The resulting meal has a high sugar and energy content and is very palatable but is low in protein (42-54 g kg-1).Oyster Shell, Oyster shells are almost pure calcium carbonate (95-99%) and are good sources of calcium for all classes of animals. Clam shells, conch shells, coral and coral sand can all be used for feeding. Shells that have been ground to coarse grit tend to be more palatable to laying hens and help grain digestion in the gizzard, as well as producing strong eggshells. For laying hens the shells should be ground to 0.5-2.0 mm and mixed 2:1 with finely ground limestone.Pacu, A commercially important freshwater fish native to the rivers of Brazil. This large migratory fish reaches 60 cm in length and is a scavenger that eats vegetation, mostly of fruit that falls into the water as well as an occasional small fish or insect. Pacu is one of the first native fish species to be successfully cultured in Brazil. A market size of 1-2 kg can be attained in 18-20 month at water temperatures of 22-280 C.
Animal Personality by Jill R. D. MacKayFrom 'scaredy cats' to 'moody cows,' we often give animals personality when we talk about them, but does this have any basis in scientific fact? Only recently has science confirmed that animals have distinct individual personalities, shown through behavioural research. Animal Personality introduces the fundamentals of personality science and research, describing the history of behavioural testing, and then drills into scientific measurement, recording, and statistical analysis of individual personalities in animals. The author shows how the implications of animals having personalities affects how we treat and care for pets, farm animals, and wildlife. Interesting questions are posed, such as what is the evolutionary reason for traits like fearfulness, aggression and sociability? And it questions long held beliefs about animal traits such as dominance theory. Animal Personality provides a fascinating and informed insight into the science of personality and its application to non-human animals. Ethologists and animal owners will find this an illuminating and thought-provoking resource. [Subject: Veterinary Studies, Ethology, Animal Welfare]
Publication Date: 2018
Food and animal welfare by Buller, HenrySummary: "Drawing together the latest research and a range of case studies, Henry Buller and Emma Roe guide readers on a fascinating journey through animal welfare issues 'from farm to fork'. Animal welfare offers a vital lens through which to explore the economies, culture and politics of food. This is the first text to provide a much-needed overview of this strongly debated area of the food industry. Buller and Roe explore how animal welfare is defined, advocated, assessed and implemented by farmers, veterinarians, distributors, and consumers. From the practicalities and limitations of establishing a basic standard of care for livestock, to the ethics of selling welfare as a product in the supermarket, this indispensable book offers empirical insights into a key aspect of the global food system: the lives, deaths, and consumption of animals which are at the core of the food chain. It is a must-read for students and scholars of animal welfare, agro-food studies and human-animal relations in disciplines such as geography, politics, anthropology, and sociology as well as animal behaviour, psychology and veterinary science."--Bloomsbury Publishing.
Publication Date: 2019
Monitoring Animal Populations and Their Habitats by Brenda McComb; Benjamin Zuckerberg; David Vesely; Christopher JordanIn the face of so many unprecedented changes in our environment, the pressure is on scientists to lead the way toward a more sustainable future. Written by a team of ecologists, Monitoring Animal Populations and Their Habitats: A Practitioner's Guide provides a framework that natural resource managers and researchers can use to design monitoring programs that will benefit future generations by distilling the information needed to make informed decisions. In addition, this text is valuable for undergraduate- and graduate-level courses that are focused on monitoring animal populations. With the aid of more than 90 illustrations and a four-page color insert, this book offers practical guidance for the entire monitoring process, from incorporating stakeholder input and data collection, to data management, analysis, and reporting. It establishes the basis for why, what, how, where, and when monitoring should be conducted; describes how to analyze and interpret the data; explains how to budget for monitoring efforts; and discusses how to assemble reports of use in decision-making. The book takes a multi-scaled and multi-taxa approach, focusing on monitoring vertebrate populations and upland habitats, but the recommendations and suggestions presented are applicable to a variety of monitoring programs. Lastly, the book explores the future of monitoring techniques, enabling researchers to better plan for the future of wildlife populations and their habitats. Monitoring Animal Populations and Their Habitats: A Practitioner's Guide furthers the goal of achieving a world in which biodiversity is allowed to evolve and flourish in the face of such uncertainties as climate change, invasive species proliferation, land use expansion, and population growth.
Publication Date: 2010
Livestock Housing by Andres Aland (Editor); Thomas Banhazi (Editor)Appropriate housing that promotes excellent health and high welfare for different livestock species is an essential aspect of sustainable animal production. The appropriate design of livestock buildings is a fast changing and ever improving professional endeavour. This book is set out to review the `current best practice management¿ in relation to all key design elements of livestock buildings. It is important to manage these buildings correctly to generate environmental conditions that will enhance the health and welfare of livestock, the health of farm workers and people living near farming operations.
'Livestock housing' is written for all those who are involved in managing the health and welfare conditions of housed livestock on commercial farms, including farm workers, animal scientists, veterinarians, agricultural engineers and of course students. Contributions have been solicited from highly respected specialists from around the world. All key areas of housing management are reviewed, including feeding, watering, ventilation and waste management systems. Furthermore, issues such as the control of emissions, role of bedding, maintenance of hygiene, the management of thermal and aerial environment as well as the use of modern technological tools in the service of livestock management are discussed. This book provides a unique forum for leading international experts to convey up-to-date information to professionals involved in modern animal production.