Comprehensive BiotechnologyThe second edition of Comprehensive Biotechnology continues the tradition of the first inclusive work on this dynamic field with up-to-date and essential entries on the principles and practice of biotechnology. The integration of the latest relevant science and industry practice with fundamental biotechnology concepts is presented with entries from internationally recognized world leaders in their given fields. With two volumes covering basic fundamentals, and four volumes of applications, from environmental biotechnology and safety to medical biotechnology and healthcare, this work serves the needs of newcomers as well as established experts combining the latest relevant science and industry practice in a manageable format. It is a multi-authored work, written by experts and vetted by a prestigious advisory board and group of volume editors who are biotechnology innovators and educators with international influence. All six volumes are published at the same time, not as a series; this is not a conventional encyclopedia but a symbiotic integration of brief articles on established topics and longer chapters on new emerging areas. Hyperlinks provide sources of extensive additional related information; material authored and edited by world-renown experts in all aspects of the broad multidisciplinary field of biotechnology Scope and nature of the work are vetted by a prestigious International Advisory Board including three Nobel laureates Each article carries a glossary and a professional summary of the authors indicating their appropriate credentials An extensive index for the entire publication gives a complete list of the many topics treated in the increasingly expanding field
Encyclopedia of Agriculture and Food SystemsEncyclopedia of Agriculture and Food Systems, Second Edition addresses important issues by examining topics of global agriculture and food systems that are key to understanding the challenges we face. Questions it addresses include: Will we be able to produce enough food to meet the increasing dietary needs and wants of the additional two billion people expected to inhabit our planet by 2050? Will we be able to meet the need for so much more food while simultaneously reducing adverse environmental effects of today's agriculture practices? Will we be able to produce the additional food using less land and water than we use now? These are among the most important challenges that face our planet in the coming decades. The broad themes of food systems and people, agriculture and the environment, the science of agriculture, agricultural products, and agricultural production systems are covered in more than 200 separate chapters of this work. The book provides information that serves as the foundation for discussion of the food and environment challenges of the world. An international group of highly respected authors addresses these issues from a global perspective and provides the background, references, and linkages for further exploration of each of topics of this comprehensive work. Addresses important challenges of sustainability and efficiency from a global perspective. Takes a detailed look at the important issues affecting the agricultural and food industries today. Full colour throughout.
Encyclopedia of AgrophysicsThis Encyclopedia of Agrophysics will provide up-to-date information on the physical properties and processes affecting the quality of the environment and plant production. It will be a "first-up" volume which will nicely complement the recently published Encyclopedia of Soil Science, (November 2007) which was published in the same series. In a single authoritative volume a collection of about 250 informative articles and ca 400 glossary terms covering all aspects of agrophysics will be presented. The authors will be renowned specialists in various aspects in agrophysics from a wide variety of countries. Agrophysics is important both for research and practical use not only in agriculture, but also in areas like environmental science, land reclamation, food processing etc. Agrophysics is a relatively new interdisciplinary field closely related to Agrochemistry, Agrobiology, Agroclimatology and Agroecology. Nowadays it has been fully accepted as an agricultural and environmental discipline. As such this Encyclopedia volume will be an indispensable working tool for scientists and practitioners from different disciplines, like agriculture, soil science, geosciences, environmental science, geography, and engineering.
Encyclopedia of Applied Plant SciencesA multi-faceted reference work, the Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences addresses the core knowledge, theories, and techniques employed by plant scientists, while also concentrating on applications of these in research and in industry. Plants influence all our lives as sources of sustenance, fuel and building materials. The Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences is a comprehensive yet succinct publication that covers the application of current advances in the biological sciences, through which scientists can now better produce sustainable, safe food, feed and food ingredients, and renewable raw materials for industry and society. This three-volume set also covers the concerns over continuing advances in the application of knowledge in the areas of ecology and plant pathology, genetics, physiology, biochemistry and biotechnology, as well as the ethical issues involved in the use of the powerful techniques available to modern plant science. An invaluable reference, the Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences will be an indispensable addition to the library of anyone involved in the study of plant sciences. The Encyclopedia of Applied Plant Sciences is available online on ScienceDirect. The print edition price for this reference work does not include online access. For more information on pricing for access to the online edition, please review our Licensing Options. The richness and authority of Elsevier reference works is now lent valuable functionality and accessibility through the online launch of Elsevier Reference Works on ScienceDirect. Features: Extensive browsing and searching across subject, thematic, alphabetical, author and cited author indexes - as applicable to the work Basic and advanced search functionality within volumes, parts of volumes, or across the whole work Ability to build, save and re-run searches as well as combine saved searches Internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy All articles are available as full-text HTML files, and as PDF files that can be viewed, downloaded or printed out in their original print format A dedicated Reference Works navigation tab and homepage on ScienceDirect to enable easy linking from your OPAC or library website For more information about the Elsevier Reference Works on ScienceDirect Program, please visit: http://www.info.sciencedirect.com/reference_works. Key Features * Comprehensively covers both the key theoretical and practical aspects of plant sciences * Edited and written by a distinguished international group of editors and contributors * Well-organized format provides for concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references * Presents complete up-to-date information on over 25 separate areas of plant science * Features many tables and figures, with a color plate section in each volume * New terms clearly explained in glossary sections of each article
Encyclopedia of Food MicrobiologyWritten by the world's leading scientists and spanning over 400 articles in three volumes, the Encyclopedia of Food Microbiology, Second Edition is a complete, highly structured guide to current knowledge in the field. Fully revised and updated, this encyclopedia reflects the key advances in the field since the first edition was published in 1999 The articles in this key work, heavily illustrated and fully revised since the first edition in 1999, highlight advances in areas such as genomics and food safety to bring users up-to-date on microorganisms in foods. Topics such as DNA sequencing and E. coli are particularly well covered. With lists of further reading to help users explore topics in depth, this resource will enrich scientists at every level in academia and industry, providing fundamental information as well as explaining state-of-the-art scientific discoveries. This book is designed to allow disparate approaches (from farmers to processors to food handlers and consumers) and interests to access accurate and objective information about the microbiology of foods. Microbiology impacts the safe presentation of food. From harvest and storage to determination of shelf-life, to presentation and consumption. This work highlights the risks of microbial contamination and is an invaluable go-to guide for anyone working in Food Health and Safety. Has a two-fold industry appeal (1) those developing new functional food products and (2) to all corporations concerned about the potential hazards of microbes in their food products.
Encyclopedia of Grain ScienceThe Encyclopedia of Grain Science is an in-depth and authoritative reference covering all areas of grain science. Coverage includes everything from the genetics of grains to the commercial, economic and social aspects of this important food source. Also covered are the biology and chemistry of grains, the applied aspects of grain production and the processing of grains into various food and beverage products. With the paramount role of cereals as a global food source, this Encyclopedia is sure to become the standard reference work in the field of science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. *Foreword by Professor Geoff H.O. Palmer OBE, Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE), for "services to grain science"--QUEEN'S BIRTHDAY HONOURS LIST *Contains over 150 articles *Includes "Further Reading" lists at the end of each article *Many figures and tables illustrate the text and a colour plate section is contained in each volume
Encyclopedia of Pest ManagementDescribes preventive aspects of pest management, including forecasting, modeling, conservation, monitoring, and scouting. This book explores effective, economical, and environmentally compatible pest management systems. It discusses various pesticide and biocide laws and regulations, and examines the human health impact and cost of pesticide use.
Encyclopedia of Soils in the EnvironmentMore than ever before, a compelling need exists for an encyclopedic resource about soil - the rich mix of mineral particles, organic matter, gases, and soluble compounds that foster both plant and animal growth. Civilization depends more on the soil as human populations continue to grow and increasing demands are placed upon available resources. The Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment is a comprehensive and integrated consideration of a topic of vital importance to human societies in the past, present, and future. This important work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com. * A distinguished international group of editors and contributors * Well-organized encyclopedic format providing concise, readable entries, easy searches, and thorough cross-references * Abundant visual resources -- photographs, figures, tables, and graphs -- in every entry * Complete up-to-date coverage of many important topics -- essential information for scientists, students and professionals alike
Encyclopedia of Supramolecular ChemistryOffering centralized information on the topic of Crystallizing, this encyclopaedia presents supramolecular advancements and methods in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, biology, environmental and materials science and engineering, physics, computer science, and applied mathematics. It is designed for specialists and students alike.
Handbook of Bioenergy Crop PlantsAs the world's population is projected to reach 10 billion or more by 2100, devastating fossil fuel shortages loom in the future unless more renewable alternatives to energy are developed. Bioenergy, in the form of cellulosic biomass, starch, sugar, and oils from crop plants, has emerged as one of the cheaper, cleaner, and environmentally sustainable alternatives to traditional forms of energy. Handbook of Bioenergy Crop Plants brings together the work of a panel of global experts who survey the possibilities and challenges involved in biofuel production in the twenty-first century. Section One explores the genetic improvement of bioenergy crops, ecological issues and biodiversity, feedstock logistics and enzymatic cell wall degradation to produce biofuels, and process technologies of liquid transportation fuels production. It also reviews international standards for fuel quality, unique issues of biofuel-powered engines, life-cycle environmental impacts of biofuels compared with fossil fuels, and social concerns. Section Two examines commercialized bioenergy crops, including cassava, Jatropha, forest trees, maize, oil palm, oilseed Brassicas, sorghum, soybean, sugarcane, and switchgrass. Section Three profiles emerging crops such as Brachypodium, diesel trees, minor oilseeds, lower plants, Paulownia, shrub willow, sugarbeet, sunflower, and sweet potato. It also discusses unconventional biomass resources such as vegetable oils, organic waste, and municipal sludge. Highlighting the special requirements, major achievements, and unresolved concerns in bioenergy production from crop plants, the book is destined to lead to future discoveries related to the use of plants for bioenergy production. It will assist in developing innovative ways of ameliorating energy problems on the horizon.
Handbook of Plant NutritionThe burgeoning demand on the world food supply, coupled with concern over the use of chemical fertilizers, has led to an accelerated interest in the practice of precision agriculture. This practice involves the careful control and monitoring of plant nutrition to maximize the rate of growth and yield of crops, as well as their nutritional value. The Handbook of Plant Nutrition provides a readily accessible source of highly current and reliable information on the nutritional requirements of the most significant crops being cultivated worldwide. With their introduction, the editors provide an overview of plant nutrients and beneficial elements, distinguishing the difference between the two, and explaining research approaches and diagnostic criteria currently being applied. What then follows are twenty chapters, each one dedicated to an essential macro or micronutrient or beneficial element. Written by eminent researchers from across the world, each of the chapters- Offers historical information on the specific nutrient, explaining why it is either essential or a beneficial element, giving demonstration of its essentiality and functions in plants Explains how appearance and composition of plants can be used to assess nutritional status Discusses the value of soil tests for assessing nutritional status Recommends fertilizers that can be applied to remedy nutritional deficiencies Those chapters that cover beneficial elements discuss the history of the elements with regard to growth and yield, and provide current information concerning their impact on growth stimulation and plant metabolism for particular plant species. Of great value to growers, agricultural consultants, agronomists, and plant scientists, this handbook provides a practical easy-to-use reference for determining, monitoring, and improving the nutritional needs of plants. The graphical presentations of plant interactions with nutrients and beneficial elements, and the straight-forward explanations of how nutrient deficiencies arise are especially useful to those seeking knowledge of plant nutrition.
Handbook of Soil SciencesAn evolving, living organic/inorganic covering, soil is in dynamic equilibrium with the atmosphere above, the biosphere within, and the geology below. It acts as an anchor for roots, a purveyor of water and nutrients, a residence for a vast community of microorganisms and animals, a sanitizer of the environment, and a source of raw materials for construction and manufacturing. To develop lasting solutions to the challenges of balanced use and stewardship of the Earth, we require a fundamental understanding of soil from its elastic, porous three-phase system to its components, processes, and reactions. Handbook of Soil Sciences: Properties and Processes, Second Edition is the first of two volumes that form a comprehensive reference on the discipline of soil science. Completely revised and updated to reflect the current state of knowledge, this volume covers the traditional areas of soil science: soil physics, soil chemistry, soil mineralogy, soil biology and biochemistry, and pedology. Contributors discuss the application of physical principles to characterize the soil system and mass and energy transport processes within the critical zone. They present significant advances in soil chemistry; describe how minerals are formed and transformed; and provide an introduction to the soil biota. They also examine geomorphology, land use, hydropedology, and subaqueous soils as well as the classification and digital mapping of soil. Critical elements addressed in each section include: Descriptions of concepts and theories Definitions, approaches, methodologies, and procedures Data in tabular and figure format Extensive references This cohesive handbook provides a thorough understanding of soil science principles and practices based on a rigorous, complete, and up-to-date treatment of the subject matter compiled by leading scientists. It is a resource rich in data, offering professional soil scientists, agronomists, engineers, ecologists, biologists, naturalists, and students their first point of entry into a particular aspect of the soil sciences."
Hayes' Handbook of Pesticide ToxicologyThe Handbook of Pesticide Toxicology is a comprehensive, two-volume reference guide to the properties, effects, and regulation of pesticides that provides the latest and most complete information to researchers investigating the environmental, agricultural, veterinary, and human-health impacts of pesticide use. Written by international experts from academia, government, and the private sector, the Handbook of Pesticide Toxicology is an in-depth examination of critical issues related to the need for, use of, and nature of chemicals used in modern pest management. This updated 3e carries on the book's tradition of serving as the definitive reference on pesticide toxicology and recognizes the seminal contribution of Wayland J. Hayes, Jr., co-Editor of the first edition. Feature: Presents a comprehensive look at all aspects of pesticide toxicology in one reference work. Benefit: Saves researchers time in quickly accessing the very latest definitive details on toxicity of specific pesticides as opposed to searching through thousands of journal articles. Feature: Clear exposition of hazard identification and dose response relationships in each chapter featuring pesticide agents and actions Benefit: Connects the experimental laboratory results to real-life applications in human health, animal health and the environment. Feature: All major classes of pesticide considered. Benefit: Provides relevance to a wider variety of researchers who are conducting comparative work in pesticides or their health impacts. Feature: Different routes of exposure critically evaluated. Benefit: Connects the loop between exposure and harmful affects to those who are researching the affects of pesticides on humans or wildlife.
Sittig's Handbook of Pesticides and Agricultural ChemicalsSittig's Handbook of Pesticides and Agricultural Chemicals is specifically designed for use by those engaged in the agricultural and food processing industries, both vital to our nation's health and economy. People in every phase of food production, from the farm to the fork, will find a wealth of material here. It will also be of interest to professionals in the pharmaceutical, cosmetics, and personal care industries who use agricultural products as ingredients. It provides crop, chemical, regulatory, health and safety information on nearly 800 pesticides, fertilizers, and other agricultural chemicals. These chemicals are organized withg unique identifiers so that all who may have contact with or interest in them can find critical information quickly.
Includes engineering and applied science handbooks, including plant science. You will find reference works such as process and design info, life cycle assessment, standards, interactive graphs and tables, material and substance properties data, and equations and formulations for specific industries.
Created in 2011 by a group of Stanford scientists, Bio-protocol is an online peer-reviewed protocol journal. Its mission is to make life science research more efficient and reproducible by curating and hosting high quality, free access protocols.
an interdisciplinary journal providing a definitive source of research methods in cell, developmental and molecular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, computational biology, immunology, neuroscience and imaging.