A Handbook of Varieties of English : a Multimedia Reference Tool. Volume 1: Phonology. Volume 2: Morphology and SyntaxThe Handbook is by far the most thorough reference work on phonology and the first-ever comprehensive overview of the morphology and syntax of varieties of English in the world. The Handbook consists of a two volume book accompanied by an interactive CD-ROM. The genuine speech samples and interactive maps of the CD-ROM not only supplement the printed articles by offering lively illustrations of the varieties of English around the world, but the material offered can also be used for linguistic research. The multimedia material is now also available online. Survey Articles The books feature descriptive survey articles that are authored by widely acclaimed specialists in the field and that cover all main national standard varieties, distinctive regional, ethnic, and social varieties, major contact varieties, as well as major ESL varieties; share a common core, which makes them invaluable research tools for cross-linguistic comparisons; provide information on the historical and cultural backgrounds as well as the current sociolinguistic situations in the respective regions; serve as state-of-the-art reports on major issues in current research. CD-ROM The CD-ROM not only supplements the printed volumes through interactive access to the varieties but also provides a comprehensive database with: a unique collection of speech recordings of English from around the world; sound samples that open new perspectives on the varieties of English, as speech recordings also constitute the central aspect of research - students as well as professional academics will feel encouraged to use the material for new investigations; interactive and synchronized maps that allow either phonological or morphosyntactic (grammatical) comparisons; extensive bibliographies on the relevant research literature; links to pertinent websites. Online Version The online version provides departments of English and Linguistics with the opportunity to make the multimedia tools simultaneously available to a wider number of faculty members and students. instructors can deploy the sound samples and interactive maps to enhance their classroom presentations and to highlight important language features; researchers are provided with a database of multimedia material for further study; students can employ the data when working on classroom assignments. Together, the books and the CD-ROM are an indispensable reference work and research tool for sociolinguists, dialectologists, phonologists, grammarians, typologists, and specialists in contact languages and varieties of English around the world. Given its accessible style and its rich auditory and visual support, this Handbook is also ideally suited not only for professional academics but also for undergraduate and graduate students. The editors are responsible for the following topics: Kate Burridge/ Bernd Kortmann: Australia / Pacific Archipelagos Bernd Kortmann: British Isles: Morphology and Syntax Rajend Mesthrie: Africa / South and Southeast Asia Edgar W. Schneider: The Americas / Caribbean Clive Upton: British Isles: Phonology System requirements for the CD-ROM: Hardware: Pentium 500 MHz or AMD K6-III+ 500 MHz, PowerPC G3, 64 MB RAM, 16-bit Soundcard Operating Systems: Windows 98, NT, Me, 2000, XP/ Mac OS 9.x, X 10.x/ Linux (any distribution with Kernel 2.0) Supported Browsers: Internet Explorer 5.5 or 6 (Mac OS: Internet Explorer 5.1)/ Netscape 7.x/ Mozilla 1.0/ Mozilla Firefox 0.8 Plugins: Macromedia Flash Player 6/ Acrobat Reader
Phonetics and Phonology
Bloomsbury Companion to PhoneticsThe Bloomsbury Companion To Phonetics is designed to be the essential one-volume resource for advanced students and academics. It offers a comprehensive reference resource, giving an overview of key topics and key terms in phonetics. It offers a survey of current research areas and new directions in the field as well as featuring a manageable guide to beginning or developing research. The book gives readers practical guidance for advanced study in the area. The volume covers all the most important issues, concepts, movements and approaches in the field, looking at both the core and applied domains of phonetics and speech science. It offers insights into areas as diverse as the acquisition, production and perception of speech, and clinical and forensic phonetics. There is a state of the art exploration of voice and phonation, tone and intonation, phonetic pedagogy, speech technology and phonetic universals.
A Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsDavid Crystal′s A Dictionary of Linguistics and Phonetics has long been the standard single-volume reference for its field. Now available in its sixth edition, it has been revised and updated to reflect the latest terms in the field. Includes in excess of 5,100 terms, grouped into over 3,000 entries Coverage reflects recommendations by a team of experts in phonetics, phonology, syntax, semantics, sociolinguistics and psycholinguistics, making it exceptionally comprehensive Incorporates new ideas stemming from the minimalist program Contains a separate table of abbreviations and table of symbols, along with an updated International Phonetic Alphabet Updates entries to reflect the way established terms are now perceived in light of changes in the field, providing a unique insight into the historical development of linguistics Remains the standard single-volume reference for the field of linguistics and phonetics.
The Oxford handbook of laboratory phonologyThis book provides state-of-the-art coverage of research in laboratory phonology. Laboratory phonology denotes a research perspective, not a specific theory: it represents a broad community of scholars dedicated to bringing interdisciplinary experimental
The Handbook of MorphologyInterest in morphology has undergone rapid growth over the past two decades and the area is now seen as crucially important, both in relation to other aspects of grammar and in relation to other disciplines.
Morphological TypologyIn this radically new approach to morphological typology, the authors set out new and explicit methods for the typological classification of languages. Drawing on evidence from a diverse range of languages including Chinantec, Dakota, French, Fur, Icelandic, Ngiti and Sanskrit, the authors propose innovative ways of measuring inflectional complexity. Designed to engage graduate students and academic researchers, the book presents opportunities for further investigation. The authors' data sets and the computational tool that they constructed for their analysis are available online, allowing readers to employ them in their own research. Readers can access the online computational tool through www.cambridge.org/stump_finkel.
The Handbook of Contemporary Syntactic TheoryThis volume provides a comprehensive view of the current issues in contemporary syntactic theory. Written by an international assembly of leading specialists in the field, these 2 original articles serve as a useful reference for various areas of grammar. Contains 23 articles written by an international assembly of specialists in the field. The lucidly written articles grant accessibility to crucial areas of syntactic theory. Contrasting theories are represented. Contains an informative introduction and extensive bibliography which serves as a reference tool for both students and professional linguists.
Semantics and Pragmatics
Semantics by András KornaiThe focus of this textbook is the meaning of linguistic expressions, typically full sentences and longer texts. The author describes the conceptual and formal tools required for building semantic systems capable of understanding text, both for specific tasks such as information extraction and question answering and for broad undertakings such as the Semantic Web. The goal here is to present the fundamental ideas that working systems rest on, and this book is aimed primarily at Computer Science or Engineering students interested in developing semantic systems. The ideal reader is a hacker, a person who delights in having an intimate understanding of the internal workings of a system.
Sociolinguistics: a sociological critiqueUrges the need for a critical analysis of all the philosophical assumptions on which sociolinguistics has been based, while emphasizing the sociological rather than the linguistic side of sociolinguistics.
Analyzing meaning : an introduction to semantics and pragmatics, Second corrected and slightly revised editionThis book provides an introduction to the study of meaning in human language, from a linguistic perspective. It covers a fairly broad range of topics, including lexical semantics, compositional semantics, and pragmatics. The chapters are organized into six units: (1) Foundational concepts; (2) Word meanings; (3) Implicature (including indirect speech acts); (4) Compositional semantics; (5) Modals, conditionals, and causation; (6) Tense & aspect. Most of the chapters include exercises which can be used for class discussion and/or homework assignments, and each chapter contains references for additional reading on the topics covered. As the title indicates, this book is truly an INTRODUCTION: it provides a solid foundation which will prepare students to take more advanced and specialized courses in semantics and/or pragmatics.
Pragmatics, truth and underspecification : towards an atlas of meaningThe concept of meaning, since Frege initiated the linguistic turn in 1884, has been the subject of numerous theories, hypotheses, methodologies and distinctions. One distinction of considerable strategic value relates to the location of meaning: some aspects of meaning can be found in language and are modelled with semantic values of various kinds; some aspects of meaning can be found in communicative processes and are modelled with pragmatic inferences of one sort or another. One hypothesis of great heuristic utility concerns the relationship that is assumed between the semantic and the pragmatic. This collection of especially commissioned papers examines current thinking on the plausible nature of the semantic, the possible character of the pragmatic and the mechanics of their intersection.