- UAlberta Home |
- Find a Person |
- ONEcard |
- Bear Tracks |
- Maps |
- Email & Apps |
- eClass
Bloomsbury Companion to Phonetics
The Bloomsbury Companion To Phonetics is designed to be the essential one-volume resource for advanced students and academics. It offers a comprehensive reference resource, giving an overview of key topics and key terms in phonetics. It offers a survey of current research areas and new directions in the field as well as featuring a manageable guide to beginning or developing research. The book gives readers practical guidance for advanced study in the area. The volume covers all the most important issues, concepts, movements and approaches in the field, looking at both the core and applied domains of phonetics and speech science. It offers insights into areas as diverse as the acquisition, production and perception of speech, and clinical and forensic phonetics. There is a state of the art exploration of voice and phonation, tone and intonation, phonetic pedagogy, speech technology and phonetic universals.
The Routledge Handbook of Phonological Theory by
The Routledge Handbook of Phonological Theory provides a comprehensive overview of the major contemporary approaches to phonology. Phonology is frequently defined as the systematic organisation of the sounds of human language. For some, this includes aspects of both the surface phonetics together with systematic structural properties of the sound system; for others, phonology is seen as distinct from, and autonomous from, phonetics. The Routledge Handbook of Phonological Theory surveys the differing ways in which phonology is viewed, with a focus on current approaches to phonology. Divided into two parts, this handbook: covers major conceptual frameworks within phonology, including: rule-based phonology; Optimality Theory; Government Phonology; Dependency Phonology; and connectionist approaches to generative phonology; explores the central issue of the relationship between phonetics and phonology; features 23 chapters written by leading academics from around the world. The Routledge Handbook of Phonological Theory is an authoritative survey of this key field in linguistics, and is essential reading for students studying phonology.
This link opens in a new window
Introducing Phonology
Key Concepts in Phonetics and Phonology by
Key Concepts in Phonetics and Phonology is a comprehensive and up-to-date A to Z of the core areas of phonetics and phonology. If you are new to these fields, this book will be an invaluable resource for quickly familiarizing yourself with the jargon and specialist terms. Each of the 136 entries starts with a brief definition of a key concept and, where appropriate, more detail is given, along with an illustrative example. All entries are also cross-referenced to help you easily locate definitions for unfamiliar jargon. This book contains fully referenced descriptions of the key terms in phonetics, particularly articulatory phonetics, and presents the main schools of theoretical phonology. If you want to know more, the extensive bibliography included at the back of the book will suggest where you can look for information to deepen your knowledge.
Practical English Phonetics and Phonology : a resource book for students
Routledge English Language Introductions cover core areas of language study and are one-stop resources for students. Assuming no prior knowledge, books in the series offer an accessible overview of the subject, with activities, study questions, sample analyses, commentaries and key readings - all in the same volume. The innovative and flexible 'two-dimensional' structure is built around four sections - Introduction, Development, Exploration and Extension - which offer self-contained stages for study. Revised and updated throughout, this fourth edition of Practical English Phonetics and Phonology: presents the essentials of the subject and their day-to-day applications in an engaging and accessible manner; covers all the core concepts of phonetics and phonology, such as the phoneme, syllable structure, production of speech, vowel and consonant possibilities, glottal settings, stress, rhythm, intonation and the surprises of connected speech; incorporates classic readings from key names in the discipline; outlines the sound systems of six key languages from around the world (Spanish, French, Italian, German, Polish and Japanese); is accompanied by a brand-new companion website which hosts a collection of samples provided by genuine speakers of 25 accent varieties from Britain, Ireland, the USA, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, South Africa, India, Singapore and West Africa, as well as transcriptions, further study questions, answer keys, links to further reading and numerous recordings to accompany activities in the book. This edition has been completely reorganised and new features include: updated descriptions of the sounds of modern English and the adoption of the term General British (GB); considerable expansion of the treatment of intonation, including new recordings; and two new readings by David Crystal and John Wells. Written by authors who are experienced teachers and researchers, this best-selling textbook will appeal to all students of English language and linguistics and those training for a certificate in TEFL.
This link opens in a new window