Subject Guides: Linguistics: Reference Resources

Library Search

Whether you are searching for books and articles through our library catalogue or in individual databases, the process is similar:

Ensure you are in the "Advanced Search" interface
Search for sources using a combination of terms and fields:
Limit your results, e.g. by date or to relevant source types: e.g. books, academic journals...
Remember: searching is an iterative process!
- Search multiple databases
- Have fun! Experiment/play with your search process
- Reach out if you need help!

Linguistics Databases

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Linguistic Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ethnologue: Languages of the World This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Enhanced Electronic Grammars This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

Select Journals

Canadian Journal of Linguistics/Revue canadienne de linguistique
(Former title: Journal of the Canadian Linguistic Association/Revue de l'Association canadienne de linguistique)

International Journal of Corpus Linguistics

Journal of Linguistics

Select Web Resources

E-Lectures from the Virtual Linguistics Campus
Essentials of Linguistics This Open Educational Resource (OER) brings together Open Access content from around the web and enhances it with dynamic video lectures about the core areas of theoretical linguistics (phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics), supplemented with discussion of psycholinguistic and neurolinguistic findings. Essentials of Linguistics is suitable for any beginning learner of linguistics but is primarily aimed at the Canadian learner, focusing on Canadian English for learning phonetic transcription, and discussing the status of Indigenous languages in Canada. Drawing on best practices for instructional design, Essentials of Linguistics is suitable for blended classes, traditional lecture classes, and for self-directed learning. No prior knowledge of linguistics is required.
Glottolog Glottolog provides a comprehensive catalogue of the world's languages, language families and dialects, especially lesser known languages. It assigns a unique and stable identifier (the Glottocode) to (in principle) all languoids, i.e. all families, languages, and dialects. Any variety that a linguist works on should eventually get its own entry. The languoids are organized via a genealogical classification (the Glottolog tree) that is based on available historical-comparative research (see also the Languoids information section).
Interactive IPA chart
ISO 639 Language Code Tables ISO 639-3 is a set of codes that defines three-letter identifiers for all known human languages.
Open Language Archives Community (OLAC) OLAC is an international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.
World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) Online The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.

Linguistics

Library Search

Linguistics Databases

Select Journals

Select Web Resources

Select Library Reference Books