Subject Guides: Teaching First Nations, Métis and Inuit Languages: Books and more

Online Resources

Curio Collection - Indigenous Languages A free playlist of videos of the impact of speaking Indigenous languages, this collection explores the efforts underway to reclaim Indigenous languages in Inuit, Métis and First Nations communities throughout Canada.
Unreserved Podcast - First Words Hosted by Rosanna Deerchild, this podcast is an audio space for Indigenous community, culture and conversation. In particular, First Words episodes feature fluent speakers of Indigenous languages talk about the connections between language and culture.

NFB Campus This link opens in a new window NFB CAMPUS is the |National Film Board of Canada| streaming video service. It includes all the videos available to the general public at NFB.ca as well as additional films, resources, and functionalities specifically developed for educators. Access to NFB CAMPUS is available for educational use only, and is subject to the notices on their site. Français: |Office national du film du Canada| (ONF)
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window

NFB Indigenous Languages Playlist
Indigenous-language versions of select films from NFB's Indigenous collection. The films in this playlist are offered in several Indigenous languages: Inuktitut, Nakota (Assiniboine), Kanien'ké:ha (Mohawk), Cree, and Atikamekw. They are also available in English.
Cree Dictionary of Mathematical Terms for Elementary Classes
FNMI Language Resources - Government Resources Collection of Canadian Language Resources Kids' Stop Inuit Child First Initiative Canadian Indigenous languages technology project Digitized and Described Indigenous Heritage Content
Perspectives PNMI en éducation French language PNMI resources for education
Oeuvres jeunesse choisies à thématiques autochtones List of French language Indigenous-themed juvenile titles
Library and Archives Canada: Indigenous documentary heritage initiatives Learn how Library and Archives Canada (LAC) increases access to Indigenous-related content in its collection and supports Indigenous communities to preserve First Nations, Inuit and Métis Nation cultures and languages.

Call Numbers

Call number areas to browse:
Curriculum (books) , Curriculum Media (CDs, DVDs, kits, etc.)

PM 986 ...
PM 987 …
PM 7895 …

Books

100 Days of Cree by Neal McLeod; Arok Wolvengrey (Contribution by)
Call Number: PM 986 M36 2016
Blackfoot Stories of Old by Lena Russell (Editor); Inge Genee (Editor); William Singer (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780889773189
Nēnapohs̆ Legends = Nēnapohs̆ āhtahsōkēwinan by Narrated by Saulteaux Elders, transcribed and translated by Margaret Cote
Call Number: E 99 C6 N45 2011
ISBN: 9780889772199
Teaching language in context by Alice Omaggio Hadley
Call Number: PB 35 H132 1993
ISBN: 0838440673

AV Resources

Cree syllabic blocks by MacLeod, Lorisia Cree language -- Alphabet -- Study and teaching (Primary) -- Audio-visual aids Cree language -- Study and teaching (Primary) -- Audio-visual aids Three-dimensional printing -- Specimens Alphabet blocks
Call Number: PM 986 M33 2020 Curriculum Media
Cree literacy kit "This kit has originally been assembled by Maxine Desjarlais for the University of Alberta's Certificate in Sustainability Integrated Project."--contents page. Books included: Teaching Cree through actions and pictures, Pocket Plains Cree for kids and parents, and nôsisimak. USB flash drive includes: Cree language book database, Cree language and culture 12-year program guide to implementation : kindergarten to grade 3, and Common curriculum framework for Aboriginal language and culture programs.
Call Number: PM 986 C7455 2022 Curriculum Media
Language matters: around the school [Kit]
Call Number: PM 986 G57 1994

Honouring the Buffalo: A Plains Cree Legend
Through the Creator, the buffalo (bison) gave themselves as a gift for the sustenance and survival of the Plains Cree people. But by 1889, just over a thousand buffalo remained. This is the story of how the buffalo came to share themselves so freely.
more...less...
The streaming audio recordings in English, Cree, French, and German are available here.

Aikattapi tsiniksinni siksikaitsitapiwa: Legends of the Kainai- Stories from the Blackfoot People of Southern Alberta by Shaw, Leah. Miller, Dick. Worthy, Barbara. Wadsworth, Blaine. Heavyshield, Hali. Soop, Louis. Canadian Broadcasting Corporation
Call Number: E 99 S54 A39 2010
Kluskap's people: stories of the Mi'kmaq = Kluskapewe'k mimajuinu'k: mi'kmawe'l a'tukwaqnn by Johnson, Madonna. Elders of Eskasoni. Mary Rose Julian. Albert and Katani Julian.
Call Number: E 99 M6 K59 2008
Publication Date: 2008
Cree language children's series [Kit]
Call Number: PM 986 C74 2003
Neyiyaw Nikamona. [Music] = Songs In Cree And English
Call Number: M 1678 N57 1986 v.1 & v. 2
Cultural Linguistic Unit. [Kit] : A Cree Language Teaching Resource : My Immediate Family, Level One
Call Number: PM 986 G57 1994

Cree Language [Kit] by Julia Cardinal

       Grade 1 - Call Number: PM 987 C372 1994 folio
       Grade 2 -   Call Number: PM 987 C373 1995 folio
       Grade 3 - Call Number: PM 987 C374 1995 folio

Children's Books

Through catalog search you can add "juvenile" to limit your results to items appropriate for K-12 students, for example "Michif" AND "Juvenile" Or you can try some of these suggested searches:

As well, there are a few online resources to explore below:

Books to Build On: Indigenous Literatures for Learning
Interactive web resource designed to assist educators with weaving Indigenous ways of knowing, being, and doing into their teaching and learning, starting with story. Audience: preservice and professional teachers.
Indigenous Storybooks A Canadian website for children, families, community members, and educators. Inspired by the open-licensed stories from Little Cree Books, this project aims to make the text, images, and audio of stories available in multiple Indigenous languages. (Plains Cree, Swampy Cree, X̱aad Kil- Old Massett, and X̱aayda Kil- Skidegate are currently available as well as English, French, and Spanish.)
First Nations Storybook Developed by the South Slave Divisional Education Council, these apps hold a collection of books written and produced in an Indigenous language, featuring colorful illustrations and text as read by a fluent speaker. Includes stories as told by elders, parents and students, local legends and tales of the northern Aboriginal peoples.

Dene Yatie (Slavey) - Android App IOS App
Chipewyan - Android App IOS App
Bush Cree - Android App IOS App

Indigenous Reads Rising - Book Lists
Our book lists showcase the diversity of Native children’s books. Arranged by topic and age category, the lists are intended to introduce readers and educators to Native books they may not have known about.

Young Reader Books and Videos

Wapos Bay
An award-winning series of stop-motion animations about three Cree children living in remote northern Saskatchewan. Guided by elders, extended family and their own insatiable curiosity, T-Bear, Talon and Raven learn how to balance traditional ways with newer ones.

Honouring the Buffalo: a Plains Cree Legend by Ray Lavallee, Judith Silverthorne, et al.
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: E 99 C88 S44813 2015
Written in both English and Plains Cree, Honouring the Buffalo is the Plains Cree story of the people's relationship with the buffalo (bison) and the many traditional gifts its body provided the First Nations in times past.
Hommage Au Bison by Judith Silverthorne; Martine Noel-Maw (Translator); Mike Keepness (Illustrator)
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: E 99 C88 S44814 2016
ISBN: 9782924237144
À travers le Créateur, le bison s'est offert en cadeau au peuple cri des Plaines pour lui procurer nourriture et assurer sa survie. Autrefois, le plus imposant mammifère terrestre d'Amérique du Nord parcourait les vastes plaines au nombre de 30 à 50 millions. Il a fourni abri, nourriture, vêtements, outils, équipement de chasse, objets cérémoniels et plusieurs autres nécessités aux habitants des Plaines. Mais vers 1889, il ne restait plus qu'un millier de bisons et la vie des Cris des Plaines a changé. Encore de nos jours, on voue un grand respect au bison en souvenir de la vie harmonieuse qui a déjà existé. Cette histoire relate la façon dont le bison s'est donné sans compter. Un guide pédagogique est disponible gratuitement.