After careful consideration, The UAlberta Library has decided to discontinue the campus-wide institutional subscription to the RefWorks reference management service.
Our RefWorks subscription expires on October 1, 2021. You will need to back up your account data or transition to other reference management software before October 1st.
We have created the RefWorks Transition Guide to walk you through how to move your references out of RefWorks and into other reference management software.
In Legacy Refworks you can create a bibliography from a list of references without creating a document. This reference list may contain your entire database, references from My List, or you can select a specific folder from which to create a bibliography.
Click the Create Bibliography button from All References, My List or the specific folder containing your references.
The Create a Bibliography From a List of References window will appear.
Under References to Include, you can choose between Selected (individually selected references), Page (references appearing on your current page) or All in List (all of the references available from the folder you've selected).
Under Select an Output Style, select the appropriate style. Note: Legacy Refworks will store the last 10 output styles you have used to generate a bibliography as Favourites in the drop-down menu for easy access.
Under File Type, select the file format you wish to create from the following options: Text, HTML, RTF (Rich Text), Word for Windows (2000 or later), Word for Mac (98 or later), or OpenOffice (.odt.).
Click Create Bibliography.
If the bibliography does not immediately open, follow your browser's instructions for viewing the file. Be sure to save the document to your computer before closing it. If creating the bibliography was successful, you should see the following window in the bottom right corner of your Legacy Refworks page:
You can email yourself the list. The email address in your Legacy Refworks account is automatically entered when you sign-up, but you can overwrite it with another address. Only one email can be entered.
Note: When generating a bibliography, the final output is sorted based on the output style you have chosen. If the output style is based on the order cited in a document, since there is no document, it will default to alphabetical by first author.
Credit for above information: http://proquest.libguides.com/refworks/creating
To create a bibliography in a Word document you will need to install Write-N-Cite 4 / ProQuest for Word.