Below are some general humanities and music specific databases:
Academic Search CompleteAlso known as: |Academic Search Premier| Academic Search Complete provides indexing and abstracts for a large number of scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines, and full text for a subset of these journals.
Contains text in Afrikaans, Albanian, Ancient Greek, Arabic, Azerbaijani, Basque, Bosnian, Bulgarian, Catalan, Chinese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Estonian, Filipino, Flemish, French / Français, German, Hebrew, Hindi, Hungarian, Icelandic, Indonesian, Iranian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Modern Greek, Norwegian, Persian, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Serbian, Serbo-Croatian, Slovak, Slovenian, Spanish, Swedish, Tagalog, Turkish, Ukrainian and Urdu languages.
JSTORJSTOR contains fulltext academic journals in the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Sciences. JSTOR provides complete journal backruns from the
date of initial publication up to a date defined, on a publisher by publisher
basis, by a "moving wall". The moving wall is a fixed period of time ranging, in
most cases, from 2 to 5 years, that defines the gap between the most recently
published issue and the date of the most recent issues available in JSTOR.
Music IndexAlso known as: |The Music Index| Indexes over 655 international music periodicals offering access to historiographic, ethnographic, and musicological data. Subjects covered include past and present personalities, the history of music, forms and types of music, musical instruments from the earliest times to modern electronic instruments, plus computer produced music. In addition, book reviews, reviews of music recordings, tapes, and performances are indexed. First performances and obituaries are noted.
Performing Arts Periodicals DatabaseProvides indexing and abstracts from sources covering film, theatre, dance, stagecraft, television, and more. Coverage ranges from 1864 to current. Full text is available for approximately 25% of the indexed journals.
RILM Abstracts of Music LiteraturePublished by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, New York. Contains records in over 100 languages; entries include original-language titles, title translations in English, full bibliographic information, and abstracts in English, as well as author, journal, and in-depth subject indexes.
Over 500 scholarly journals are represented. Articles, books, bibliographies, catalogues, conference proceedings, discographies, dissertations, Festschriften, films, and videos are all covered by RILM. Concert reviews, recording notes, and pedagogical manuals are included if they are of scholarly interest. Includes RILM Retrospective Abstracts of Music Literature.
Popular Music Data
Looking for popular music sales data from around the world? Check out:
Music Industry DataAlso known as: |Academic Charts Online (ACO)|ACO (Academic Charts Online)| Academic Charts Online (ACO) includes popular music charts from around the world, including charts from Billboard magazine in the US going back 60 years. Analytical tools enable scholars to compare artists in time and place, and derive important research work.