Reference module in earth systems and environmental sciencesThis online Reference Module allows you to search and access the complete full-text content of 19 encyclopedias and major reference works in Earth Systems and Environmental Science from Elsevier. These titles represent over 140 volumes in print, and the module will feature regular content updates.
Includes six collections: Animal Health & Production, Aquaculture, Crop Protection, Forestry, Horticulture, and Invasive Species. It brings together data and research on species, pests and diseases across all of these areas into one comprehensive resource.
Topics include agricultural, veterinary and food sciences.
A supplementary dictionary of renewable energy and sustainabilityConsists of over 300 A to Z entries relating to these subjects, expanding on Oxford's coverage in works such as A Dictionary of Environment & Conservation. It includes key terms associated with fossil- and nuclear-fueled energy systems, renewable energy sources such as solar thermal, bioenergy, tidal power and wind power, and energy costings.
A Dictionary of Environment and ConservationThis dictionary contains over 8,500 entries on all aspects of the environment and conservation. International in scope, it embraces a broad spectrum of environmental areas including sustainable development, biodiversity, conservation, environmental ethics, philosophy, history, resource management, sociology, and environmental policy. In addition to its wide-ranging concise definitions, A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation includes longer key entries on topics such as Anatarctica, Gaia, hypothesis, genetic engineering, the Kyoto Protocol, and the United Nations Conference on Environmental Development. It address the social, legal, political, and economic aspects of the environment and conservation, as well as scientific terms. The dictionary is also supplemented with an invaluable selection of 10 appendices, including international hazard assessment scales (including the Beaufort scale, the Richter scale, and the Fujita tornado scale), the geologic timescale, and an appendix of useful websites for further study. Concise and wide-ranging, this is an essential work of reference for students and professionals, and anyone with an interest in the environment and conservation.