Interested in Learning more about Wellness?
Complete Wellness by
Enjoy long-lasting holistic health and prepare natural health remedies for common ailments with essential oils, herbal remedies, and pure foods. Complete Wellness delivers a head-to-toe guide to healing for every part of your body. Targeted instructions allow you to tap into the restorative powers of herbs and plants and their therapeutic essential oils and use tried-and-true, centuries-old herbal remedies to treat a host of common ailments. In addition to healing remedies, the book explores the key building blocks for optimizing health and well-being in each part of the body, pointing you to the top herbs, nutrients, and essential oils each area needs not only to stay well, but to reach the very peak of wellness--whether to boost circulation, enjoy glowing skin, balance gut flora, or maximize energy levels. Guidance is given on incorporating ingredients into everyday regimens, helping you to stay in optimal health. Follow step-by-step demonstrations on how to blend your own teas and tinctures; concoct all-natural-ingredient creams; create therapeutic aromatherapy oil blends; discover delicious recipes for wellness; and master a variety of other practical techniques and tips for lifelong well-being. Make the most of nature's resources with Complete Wellness.
ISBN: 9781465463920Publication Date: 2018-09-18
It's All Good (Unless It's Not) by
Going to university or college is supposed to be "the best time of your life" ... but what if it's not? Research reveals that mental health issues are on the rise among undergrads, but many are not accessing help. If this is relatable, this book is for you. It addresses common sources of distress - including academic, social, parental, and financial pressures - and shows you how to meet those challenges head-on and where to turn for extra support. Packed with self-care strategies, quick tips, and eye-opening facts, this is an indispensable guide for anyone on the path to a degree.
ISBN: 9780774839013Publication Date: 2022-02-04
Fitness and Wellness by
Create your own personal fitness and wellness success stories with Hoeger and Hoeger�s FITNESS AND WELLNESS. This text helps you take control of your personal fitness and wellness by providing current, practical information and tips that you can incorporate to start living a healthier life. This succinct nine-chapter text offers balanced coverage on health-related physical fitness components with valuable information on wellness. The authors emphasize motivation and behavior modification to help you make a constant and deliberate effort to stay fit and realize your highest potential for good health. Use the interactive study tools to extend your learning beyond the text. FITNESS AND WELLNESS offers you the most current coverage and practical guidelines to take charge of your health.
ISBN: 9781305638013Publication Date: 2016-01-14
Lifestyle Wellness Coaching by
Lifestyles have changed dramatically over the past quarter century. Along with these changes come exciting opportunities, including new career paths in the professional domain of health and wellness coaching. Centered on an evidence-based process for guiding change, Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Third Edition With Web Resource, offers a systematic approach to helping clients achieve enduring changes in their personal health and wellness behaviors through a supportive and forward-moving coaching relationship. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching has been thoroughly revised and updated to keep pace with the rapidly evolving field of wellness coaching. It is complemented by discussions, case studies, reflective opportunities, and practical aids and engages readers through multiple approaches to learning: * The reader is encouraged to gauge comprehension and application of the content by reflecting on personal experiences within the context of coaching. * Sample dialogues offer real-world examples of coaching situations and strategies. * The International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies are thoroughly examined to prepare readers for certification in the profession of coaching. * A new web resource houses easy-to-use forms, plans, and assessments that professionals can use immediately with clients. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching examines real coaching conversations to assess key considerations, such as the types of questions to ask, how to provide feedback effectively, and how to facilitate action planning. The text presents communication strategies to motivate, guide, inform, and support clients' processes toward personal change with a holistic approach. It addresses boundaries of care and advice appropriate to coaching relationships. Other issues explored include developing a trusting relationship, creating goals that are aligned with coaching processes, unblocking clients' energy and discovering resources for change, and generating forward movement through the skillful use of the International Coach Federation's 11 core competencies. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching introduces readers to models that clearly identify clients' progress through the stages of change. First, the text explores the popular transtheoretical model (TTM) of health-related behavior change and its delineation of six stages of clients' readiness to change. The discussion of TTM includes strategies appropriate to clients in various stages of readiness to change. The text also presents the learning-through-change model (LCM), revealing the deep layers beneath each phase of client movement toward change. Readers are offered a map for coaching clients toward goal achievement. The authors' unique flow model of coaching illustrates how professional coaches can help clients navigate the sometimes turbulent events of a person's life in order to change habitual patterns of behavior. The companion web resource offers a complete kit of assessment tools to help establish a strong framework for successful coaching. A welcome packet, coaching readiness index, introductory session form, and between-sessions questionnaire benefit both the professional and client in laying the groundwork. Other supplemental resources, such as a social and emotional intelligence assessment and a goal setting form, support the journey. Lifestyle Wellness Coaching, Third Edition, is the definitive resource for those seeking to embrace wellness coaching and propel clients to healthy, effective change.
ISBN: 9781492559634Publication Date: 2018-06-25
Self-Care for Allied Health Professionals by
Self-Care for Allied Health Professionals brings together a collection of self-care strategies into one easy-to-read volume, supporting Allied Health Professionals to do the best for their patients by caring for themselves. The book offers information and practical strategies to look after your physical and emotional wellbeing at home and in the workplace, exploring topics such as sleep and food, resilience and meditation, stress, conflict and adversity. Written to be a flexible tool that can be read cover to cover or dipped in and out of as needed, it offers rapid response self-care strategies alongside more lasting changes, supporting practitioners to make small steps to build healthy habits for the future. Key features of this book include: -- A combination of quick response strategies, like a five-minute breathing exercise you can use before a difficult meeting, and opportunities for deeper work, examining your purpose and aligning your role with your values. -- Combines ancient practices of meditation and mindfulness with the latest research on nutrition, exercise, sleep and wellbeing. -- Consideration of the challenges professionals face in the context of pandemics and a changing health and social care landscape, helping you to thrive in a challenging world. Self-care has never been more important. This is a book that every Allied Health Professional and trainee should have on their desk, to improve productivity, enhance job satisfaction and build resilience for whatever the future brings.
ISBN: 9781003165125Publication Date: 2021-09-30
Mental Health, Spirituality and Well-Being by
This ground-breaking handbook explores the nature of spirituality and its relevance to the mental health and well-being of people coming into contact with health, social care, education, and allied support services. Incorporating the perspectives and experience of over 35 leading academics and practitioners in the field, the book offers a practical guide that includes the contemporary context, details of relevant demonstration projects and therapeutic interventions, and issues for services, staff, managers, leaders, and trainers. Opportunities for reflection and practice pointers are offered throughout. The book pays due attention to the current climate of the covid-19 pandemic and the trauma and mental health needs linked to it (both for patients and staff), black and minority ethnic and trans-gender issues, and the voice of mental health experts by experience. Organized into thematic sections, it offers an update to previous publications in the field, including a consideration of spirituality and the new landscape going forwards.
ISBN: 1914010620Publication Date: 2022-01-01
The Science and Practice of Wellness by
A dynamic approach to mental health and wellness, ready for any clinician to implement. Wellness is rapidly becoming an issue of great importance in clinical practice. Wellness-centric clinicians look to improve various traits known to be beneficial to patients-- traits such as happiness, enthusiasm, resilience, and optimism (referred to as the HERO traits). All of these not only improve global mental wellness, but also offer resilience against stress, depression, and anxiety. Wellness-centric interventions augment both psychopharmacology and traditional psychotherapies, such as CBT. Rakesh and Saundra Jain start with an in- depth review of the scientific literature and a practical introduction on applying wellness interventions in various clinical settings. Additionally, they offer advice on such beneficial practices as exercise, mindfulness, optimized nutrition, optimized sleep, enhanced socialization, and positive psychology enhancement. A robust resource section offers access to wellness-centric scales and forms developed by the authors.
ISBN: 9780393713657Publication Date: 2020-01-14
The Self-Care Handbook by
Learn how to improve and maintain your health and wellbeing with a practical and achievable self-care guide Are you looking after yourself? For so for many of us, with so much to do and think about, self care - taking care of our mental, emotional and physical health and wellbeing - often falls by the wayside. The Self-Care Handbook equips you to make positive, helpful choices for incorporating self-care into your life. It explains how to take responsibility for your own wellbeing and provides ideas and practical advice on how you can better look after yourself. Bestselling author Gill Hasson shows you how to develop the mindset, routines and habits that can protect, maintain and improve your health and wellbeing. The Handbook presents straightforward approaches that can help you feel good about yourself, manage stress and anxiety, achieve a work-life balance, increase your physical health and much more. This book will help you: Encourage a positive, healthy relationship with yourself and strengthen your wellbeing Understand and implement the factors that can protect, maintain and improve your mental and physical health and wellbeing Manage overwhelm and simplify a busy life Know how best to relax, switch off and enjoy yourself Look after yourself when you're going through difficulties, setbacks or a crisis The Self-Care Handbook is an important resource for anyone wishing to integrate healthy behaviours and activities and look after their physical and mental wellbeing.
ISBN: 9780857088154Publication Date: 2019-12-16
Light Therapy Lamps
Light therapy lamps are available to borrow from: Rutherford, Cameron, Augustana and Weir library and Bibliothèque Saint Jean.
There is a free standing light therapy lamp available for use at the Sperber Health Sciences Library, located in one of the reading nooks on the Lower Level.
Leisure Reading, Boardgames & Video Games
Thoug
h the majority of materials in our collection are meant for research and teaching, there are lots of items that serve both this purpose and provide users with a fun diversion.
Some of the cool things available through the library include:
You can use EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) search our catalogue to find an assortment of fiction and non-fiction from a variety of genres, eras and parts of the world. It's also handy for searching non-book related items including music, movies, board games, video games and more.
Augustana Library's Winter Sport Equipment Lending
Don't let cold weather get you down; take a trek out to lovely Camrose and hit the trails or explore one of the town's many indoor and outdoor rinks! University of Alberta students, staff, faculty, and alumni can borrow skis, snowshoes and skates from Augustana Library during winter months. Loan periods are 72 hours, and a brief orientation and forms must be completed before borrowing. Make sure to bring your OneCard!
|
Skis
|
Skates
|
Snowshoes
|
Sleep Health
Sleep is incredibly important to your mental health and well being. The Sperber Library has energy lamps that you can borrow to help alleviate a case of mid-day grogginess or to help give you a boost when you first wake up. They also have Blue Blocker Glasses to help stave off sleep-disrupting blue light from electronic devices.
|
Energy Lamps |
Blue Blocker Glasses
|
Streaming Listening Materials
How about checking some of our free music resources?
Streaming Video Materials
Check our free resources for movies! No, it doesn't have the latest blockbusters, but it does have some excellent older ones!