Databases for Fashion Research
-
Berg Fashion Library Offers fully cross-searchable access to a range of Berg content collections, including the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, images,etc.
-
Vogue (US Edition) The complete run of Vogue magazine (US edition), from 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names. It preserves the work of the world's greatest fashion designers, stylists and photographers and provides a unique historical record of American and international fashion, culture and society.
-
Vogue Italia The complete run of Vogue Italia – one of the most influential and renowned international editions of Vogue – from its launch in 1964 to the present. Recognized as the least commercial and most artistic edition, it has a tradition of innovation and bold treatment of current issues and events. Vogue Italia’s appeal and influence is international, with almost half of its print issues typically being sold outside of Italy. Coverage: 1964 - current
-
WGSN Fashion WGSN Fashion is the world’s leading online trend forecasting, analysis and research service. It provides creative content, tools and business intelligence to the apparel, style, beauty, design and retail industries. It includes over 22 million images.
-
Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts This database combines visual inspiration with practical advice on everything from idea generation and research techniques to portfolio development – making this the ultimate guide to a visual arts education. It includes multiple fields of practice, including: Fashion and Textiles, Design and Illustration, Photography, Film and Media, Architecture and Interiors, Marketing and Advertising.
-
Fashion Studies Online: The Videofashion Library This collection contains over 1,200 hours of videos that retrace the history of fashion, clothing, and costume worldwide. Students and researchers can access a remarkable collection covering the major fashion weeks in Milan, Paris, New York and London, as well as Miami swim and New York bridal collections. Topical segments visit events like the Met's Costume Exhibits, CFDA Awards, and feature interviews with top designers, models, and celebrities of the fashion world.
-
Bloomsbury Design Library This database provides scholarly coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. It contains reference and book content, museum object images, and allows students and academics to explore the history and context of influential design schools, people, periods, places, and disciplines.
-
Scopus Indexes articles and reports from publications such as Textile Outlook International and more.
Databases for Company Research
-
Orbis (Bureau van Dijk)
ORBIS is a global database which has information on 150 million companies. A major strength is its extensive coverage of private companies.
-
Factiva Factiva includes full text of newspapers from around the world in addition to Canadian and American newspapers, Dow Jones & Reuters newswires, business journals, market research reports, analyst reports and web sites.
-
Thomson ONE Thomson ONE delivers the critical information and analysis tools investment banking professionals need-via one complete and intuitive interface.
Thomson ONE provides access to relevant real-time global market data, news, and authoritative content from industry-leading sources.
-
FinancialPost.com Also known as: |FP infomart| and |FP Advisor| FP Advisor contains detailed information about Canadian public and private companies, company directors, archival financial information, special analytical tools, and a lead list generator.
Databases for Industry Research
-
IBISWorld For Canadian and US reports on textile and apparel industries.
-
Passport Also known as: |Global Market Information Database| Passport GMID
Passport is a global market research database providing insight on industries, economies, and consumers worldwide. Nutrition data includes country consumption for nutrients: Energy (calories), Protein, Carbohydrates, Sugar, Fat, Saturated Fat, Fibre, and Salt. -
Mintel Reports Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.Mintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
-
Conference Board of Canada: Reports Also known as: |Boardwise E Library| Includes all Conference Board of Canada research documents dating back to 1998.
Other guides to explore
Databases for News, Professional and Academic articles
-
Business Source Complete Provides full text for a large collection of business journals and peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. Indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals (back to 1886 or the first issue published for that journal) are included.
-
ABI Inform Complete Also known as: |ABI Inform Global|
ABI Inform Complete includes full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
It comprises the following titles:
ABI Inform Dateline: Includes local and regional business publications, including McClatchey Tribune titles, with news about issues such as local companies, analysis, and information on local markets .
ABI Inform Global:
Includes in-depth coverage for thousands of publications, most of which are available in full text.
ABI Inform Trade & Industry: Includes in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends and other topics. Comprises: ABI Inform Dateline, ABI Inform Global & ABI Inform Trade & Industry. -
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database (CBCA) Provides indexing and full text of Canadian business and current affairs material.
-
PressReader Also known as: |PressDisplay||Library PressDisplay||Press Reader| Press|
Provides access to the daily editions of national and international newspapers and magazines.
