U.S. National Library of Medicine. Over 70,000 images including portraits, photographs, caricatures, genre scenes, posters, and graphic art illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine dated from the 15th to 21st century.
Also known as: |HistSciTechMed| Covers journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine and allied historical fields.
MEDLINE (1946-present via EBSCOhost)
To limit to historical articles (or modern articles on historic events), go to Advanced search page limits section > Subject subsets. Select the History of Medicine filter. Enter terms in search box and click Search.
America: History and Life with Full Text covers all aspects of the history of Canada and the United States from prehistorical times to the present. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: popular culture, anthropology, folklore, sociology, cultural studies, business, the arts, law, education and genealogy. Published since 1964.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history from 1450 to the present, excluding the United States and Canada. Coverage is very broad and takes in many areas including: religion, anthropology, sociology, cultural studies, political science, the arts, law, education and geneology. Published since 1954.
Also known as: |Men's Studies|Women's Studies International| Combines NISC's Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. Also includes relevant contributions from NISC?s Child Development & Adolescent Studies as well as Family & Society Studies Worldwide databases.
Same content as Medline above, but searching Pubmed is freely available to all. To limit your PubMed search to History of Medicine citations you can add the words "and history[filter]" to any search. E.g. tuberculosis and Canad* and history[filter]
U.S. National Library of Medicine digital library project that makes freely available original works demonstrating the evolution of American medicine from colonial frontier outposts of the 17th century to research hospitals of the 20th century.
Explore multiple perspectives on the history of injury, treatment and disease on the front line. Chart scientific advances through hospital records, medical reports and first-hand accounts, and discover the evidence of how war shaped medical practice across the centuries.
This collection showcases the development of 'popular' medicine in America during the nineteenth century through material that was aimed at the general public rather than medical professionals. Collection includes rare books, pamphlets, trade cards, and visually-rich advertising ephemera.