Topics in PEN address the broad spectrum of practice in nutrition and dietetics including institutional care, primary health care, public/community health, consulting/private practice, food service management, professional education, food and the pharmaceutical industry and government. Recognized authorities on each topic or Knowledge Pathway addressed in PEN contribute to the identification of relevant literature from filtered and original sources and critically appraise, grade and synthesize that literature into key practice points or answers to practice questions. Additionally, best practice client and professional resources and other tools that are congruent with the evidence are included in PEN to support practice, along with standard Knowledge Pathway tools including backgrounds, evidence summaries and practice guidance summaries. As new science emerges, components of a Knowledge Pathway are updated in a timely way to ensure practice guidance always keeps in-step with change. Each Knowledge Pathway undergoes a complete review at regular intervals.
Alt HealthWatchThis link opens in a new windowThis alternative health database provides full text for more than 140 publications, including full text for many peer-reviewed journals. Provides in-depth coverage across the full spectrum of subject areas covered by complementary and alternative medicine dating back to 1990.
Bloomsbury Food LibraryThis link opens in a new windowThis database offers cross-searchable access to a broad and expanding range of encyclopedias, references works, e-books, images, and more:
- Global coverage including Ken Albala’s Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
- Several major reference works
- Over 60 eBooks by key authors in the field
- Image collections from leading institutions around the globe
- Specially curated lesson plans and bibliographic guides to assist teaching and research
StatistaThis link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database provides access to statistics for hundreds of industries, along with colourful infographics for download. Also included are Surveys, Country Reports, Industry Reports, and Market Outlooks, Reports and Studies.
This is a highly recommended database for Human Nutrition. It searches the same content as PubMed, but with a much stronger interface and search functionality. It is vital for systematic review searching. It covers the world's biomedical and health sciences journal literature.
Highly recommended database for Human Nutrition and vital for systematic review searches. It covers journals in the areas of nursing, occupational therapy, physical therapy and other allied health fields such as respiratory technology, x-ray technology, etc.
Topics covered by this database include patient care, health promotion, professional issues for health care workers, patient education, rehabilitation, and other related subjects. Those with little or no health science background may be able to find useful articles on the more common disease and injury conditions, as well as other health topics, because CINAHL does include some consumer health information. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also contains searchable cited references for more than 1,100 journals and provides full text for hundreds of journals, plus legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials. PDF backfiles to 1937 are also included. Includes text in Chinese, Danish, English, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Norwegian, Portuguese, Spanish, Swedish, and Turkish languages.
ABI Inform Complete includes full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data.
Largest interdisciplinary literature index strong in science, engineering, technology, and medicine. Please note: Medline is included within this. To exclude, add this to your search: AND NOT INDEX(medline)
Includes sports medicine, exercise physiology, biomechanics, psychology, training techniques, coaching, physical education, physical fitness, active living, recreation, history, and facilities and equipment
Contains text in English, French / Français, German, Italian, Russian and Spanish languages.