Primary Literature - KRLS 204 - Canadian History of Leisure, Sport, and Health - Subject Guides at University of Alberta Libraries

Finding Primary Literature

What is Primary Literature?

A record of a first-hand observation of an event, a report of scientific research, or an original work of fiction or art. Examples:

Personal narrative, diaries, reminiscences, memoirs, autobiographies, correspondence
Speeches, addresses, essays
Short stories, poetry, drama, fairty tales, sheet music, works of part, photographs, maps, etc.
Government documents, newspaper articles, audio and video recording of news, interviews, etc.
Magazine articles can also be primary sources, as long as the author observed the event first hand

Print Sources

Early issues of major Canadian daily newspapers are available in microform in Rutherford Library. Check the catalogue for holdings and call numbers for specific titles and for availability of a subject index.

Check the EBSCO Discovery Service for 'period' publications for your topic:

EBSCO Discovery Service (EDS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EDS provides cross-searching of all subscribed EBSCO content (database, journals, ebooks etc.) as well as many other UofA databases.

Online Sources

Canadian Newsstream This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes and provides fulltext access to major Canadian newspapers. Full text is available for the articles and transcripts but graphical material (photos, illustrations, graphs, etc.) is excluded. Classified ads, advertisements, and stock market reports are also excluded.
Coverage extends to a large number of newspapers, including the following:
- Calgary Herald (December 7, 1988- )
- Edmonton Journal (March 10, 1989- )
- Financial Post (January 5, 1985 - October 1998)
- Globe and Mail (November 14, 1977 -)
- Regina Leader Post (January 1, 2000 - )
- Montreal Gazette (January 2, 1985- )
- National Post (October 27, 1998- )
- Ottawa Citizen (September 3, 1985- )
- St. Catharines Standard (October 1, 1997- )
- Saskatoon Star Phoenix (May 27, 1996- )
- Vancouver Province (March 20, 1989- )
- Vancouver Sun (January 2, 1987- )
- Victoria Times Colonist (January 4, 1993- )
- Windsor Star (October 20, 1986- )
Contains text in English and French / Français.

CBC Digital Archives: Sports

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Globe and Mail This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |The Globe and Mail: Canada's Heritage |
Electronic full-page newspaper archive of The Globe from June 1844. Coverage includes all the stories, plus images, advertisements, classifieds, political cartoons, births and deaths from more than 1.4 million pages of Canada's National Newspaper, dating back to the pre-confederation era.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Toronto Star This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Also known as: |Pages of the Past|
Contains the fulltext and images of The Toronto Star's newspaper.

Newspapers
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Sep 14, 2023 6404 views this year

Library and Archives Canada

Peel's Prairie Provinces This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Peel's Prairie Provinces is a resource dedicated to assisting scholars, students, and researchers of all types in their exploration of western Canadian history and the culture of the Canadian prairies. This website contains both an online bibliography of books, pamphlets, and other materials related to the development of the Prairies, as well as a searchable full-text collection of many of these items.
Contains text in Blackfoot, Chipewyan, Cree, Danish, German, English, French / Français, Hare, Icelandic, Loucheux, Norwegian, Polish, Swedish, Ukrainian and Yiddish languages.

More Information

For more information and examples, please visit the guide on Primary Sources:

Primary Sources
by Rutherford Library Last Updated Sep 16, 2023 2056 views this year

Connect With Us!

Allison Sivak

Email Me

Contact:

J.W. Scott Health Sciences Library

https://calendly.com/allison-sivak/60-minute-consult/ (copy & paste link)